Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: erasing an ANDROID BOX question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Below is the history of me learning here how to correctly post here and use an android box that I am seeking to erase;

I posted my first post some time ago and was told my tv box was not allowed to receive info from here so, it has been sitting on the shelf since then. I was told that the box should not have had any "add-ons" in it...HOW THE HELL WAS I TO KNOW SINCE I AM NEW TO THIS!?

So, earlier yesterday, I asked a question regarding that unused box (I referred to it as a "Kodi box" for brevity) as to how to back up the box in it's entirety before "erasing(?) it and so I don't brick it or screw it up beyond repair.

I was directed to 1 or 2 programs and am still digesting the info of those products (remember, I don''t know squat about android anything). One response seemed to not like the idea of me backing up the entire box and only seem to prefer me to back up Kodi by itself but, relented and gave me a suggested program to do a full image back up.

Then, I get another response from a mod or admin(?) that referred to my very first ever post I (remember, I don''t know squat about android anything) made regarding this or any "loaded" box and said (as if having a panic attack); "Is this the same"fully loaded" box you asked about before? If so then it's unsupported here.Please provide a debug log (wiki) to prove it's clean before we continue here."

Further down that post, I received a replay that said; "First, there is NO such thing as a "Kodi box". (OF WHICH I AM AWARE BUT, ONLY CALLED IT THAT FOR BREVITY!)
Kodi does not make or endorse any boxes,
I AM AWARE OF THAT ALSO.
what you have is a Android device that happens to run Kodi,
I AM AWARE OF THAT ALSO.
most likely one that has Banned add-ons (wiki) preinstalled.