Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: DB Pi3 / Windows 7 / FreeNas - Workgroup Naming Issue
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi Everyone - I am just getting started with Raspberry Pi3, and am trying to get Kodi up and running on one for a bedroom media server.  I'm a 20 year veteran programmer on Windows systems, but am fairly new to the *nix environments that run on the Pi3.

My problem appears to be the network WorkGroup value when running on the Pi3.

My setup is a Windows 7 machine running Kodi (latest build), which scans the media library that is stored on my FreeNas server (1,064 Movies, 4360 MP3's, etc).  
My Windows 7 Workgroup is defined as "NETLUCAS".  
The FreeNAS server has Samba running, and is configured for discovery as "NAS1"; I do not have "NAS1" defined in any TCP HOSTS file or anything - it simply finds it based upon network discovery.
I have a MySQL instance running on the Windows 7 machine, and have configured Kodi (via advancedsettings.xml) to write media information to the MySQL DB (shared settings).
I scan my NAS1 Movies library from the Windows 7 Kodi instance, and can see / play media content just fine.
I can see via MySQL Workbench that the media files are getting placed in the Movies DB with a "smb:NAS1\Media01\Movies\movie folder..." prefix.  

So I bought a Raspberry Pi3 kit and started configuring it last night.  I installed OSMC, and let it apply all updates.  I configured OSMC to point to the MySQL instance running on the Windows 7 machine, and set the Samba WorkGroup to NETLUCAS to match my Windows 7 machine workgroup setting.  All is well with the world at this point; I see my movies coming up in the Pi3 Kodi.

The problem occurs when I try to play a movie on the Pi3 Kodi.  I get a "path not found" error, and it wants to remove the movie from the library because it can't seem to find it.