Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: About those disabled addons after deleting addons.db
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello everyone.

This is my very first thread here, although I have been an xbmc/kodi user since version 10 or so, back when the word "addon" was unknown to xbmc, and with many installations so far on a variety of hardware, so I can say I am an expert in from setting it up to fine tuning any available option. I use kodi 17 on my pc (debian testing x64), on my pi zero (openelec 8), kodi 14 (openelec 5) on an old netbook which is 32bit only and kodi 16 on my friend's (windows) pc.

I consider version 17 to be the worst version so far for various reasons which I will not analyse now. If I could, I would not upgrade to it, neither on my pc nor, on the pi zero, past 16. However, apt "forced" me to move to 17 on the pc, while I did a clean install of it on the pi zero, switching from libreelec 7 to openelec 8.
And, as most (if not all) users who went from 16 to 17, I encountered that black screen when kodi started up, because it was unable to update the database where it stores its addons info. The solution was to delete userdata/databases/addons.db so that kodi would make a new, "proper" one for version 17. This comes with the well known drawback: all addons (excluding the pointless ones installed with kodi like metadata.tvdb.com) are disabled!

The problem is that only version 17 does this stupid thing! Deleting addons.db on version 14 and 16 simply forces kodi to make a new one and results in EVERY addon to be ready and working on next launch, and I am talking about dozens of addons, from major ones (like plugin.video.youtube) to minor ones (their dependencies).
Opening addons.db with an sqlite editor (sqlitebrowser is what I use), shows the many "0" (zeroes) in the "enabled" column, under the "installed" table. Turning all these zeroes to ones requires