Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Sinhala subtitle fix
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey,i'm from sri lanka and  I'm new to kodi. There is an issue with sinhala subtitle rendering in kodi. that's a big issue here because the words not displaying correctly.

Is should be fixed as this.

Is there any fix for this?  
Thanks.
Sorry, but my/Kodi's Sri Lankan language skills are not that much developed.

Is this Sri Lanka rendering also done via .srt subtitle files or other subtitle type files?
Is it a font issue, or a plain wrong translation? In case of the latter, hire yourself a good translator and update the srt text file. Smile
(2017-10-25, 19:36)Klojum Wrote: [ -> ]Sorry, but my/Kodi's Sri Lankan language skills are not that much developed.

Is this Sri Lanka rendering also done via .srt subtitle files or other subtitle type files?
Is it a font issue, or a plain wrong translation? In case of the latter, hire yourself a good translator and update the srt text file. Smile

it's ok. thanks for the reply..   Blush we use .srt and .ssa both for our subtitiles. KMPlayer and VLC Player plays both these subtitle formats and sinhala subtitles very nicely. But unfortunately kodi unable to render subtitiles for sinhala. This is not a font issue. in sinhala there are several combinations of words. i don't know how to explain that. windows and other os has that facility to adjust the font as we type. I don't know how the players render these subs, but they doing it correctly. why kodi can't do this. it's media center, not a single player..

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sinhala_(Unicode_block)
(2017-10-25, 19:53)aruna Wrote: [ -> ]windows and other os has that facility to adjust the font as we type