Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Sony Android TV with USB HDD - File Is no longer available.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi All,

I'm pretty new to Kodi and have been searching for information on this problem I am Having, but all seems to relate to people running servers and crazy boxes.

My TV is a Sony KD-65X9000C Android TV. I have installed Kodi onto the TV.
From here I have plugged in a 2 TB Toshiba external HDD to the usb port in my TV.

In Kodi I have added video's from my usb toshiba source no problems. Playback is no problems, everything runs fine and plays well.

The problem is when i turn off my TV, then turn on next day to use kodi , i browse to the movies tab to play a movie and i get "The File is no longer available, would you like to remove it from the library"

If i scroll down to the Videos tab my toshiba usb drive is in media sources, and i can browse and play movies no problems from it. Just wondering if its a sony tv thing or not.

Any info or suggestions would be appreciated
Cheers
Open the File Manager in Kodi, then select your drive. At the bottom of the screen it should show /storage/a_bunch_of_letters/numbers.

This is your drives device ID, write it down. The next time you turn you TV on check it again, if it's different then your TV is assigning a different ID when it powers on. If that is what it is doing there's nothing that you can do.

Suggestion, get a NAS.
SONY messed up things big time with MM/Nougat based FWs.