Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Kodi on Sony Bravia
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi All

Newbie here, so I have run a Mede8er on my TV's for the last 10 years, and was happy with that so never looked for anything else, unfortunately the support has dropped off, after searching online i came across Kodi. Used to have the Mede8er plugged into TV and a hardrive plugged into Mede8er.

Downloaded Kodi on my Sony TV from the Play Store App on the TV, linked up my external hardrive (externally powered) to my tv direct through usb, started adding set content to videos, day 1 added movies, day 2 added series, noticed on Day 2 that the movies would not play from the movie folder, they played the day before. The metadata comes up but Kodi says the file no longer exists would i like to remove it from the library. But if i go through files while on Kodi, it plays the movie. What am i doing wrong? Any help appreciated, I did try searching.

I am just using Kodi to play movies i have on my external hardrive, not for streaming yet. Is that the best set up, to go direct to TV as well? 

Thanks.
Make sure the external hdd partition has a label name, otherwise Linux (or whatever OS your Sony TV is running) may create random names for it.
Otherwise, provide a debug log (wiki) file for some more internal details.
most likely your TV changed the path to your drive. A simple reebot of TV will solve that till the next time.