Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Unable to update to Kodi 17 Question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have what I've seen described in this forum as "cheap Chinese junk" (sorry 'bout that) It's an X96 unit with Kodi 16.1 pre-installed.

I'm still a newbie but have done a lot of reading and exploration in an attempt to educate myself. I probably don't need to update to Kodi 17 because I'm primarily using the Android box to view videos that I have stored on a connected HDD. However as part of my education, I'm investigation how I might use Kodi. My research seems to indicate that it is a good idea to update to Kodi 17. 

As suggested, I went to Google Play to get Kodi 17 but the only options shown are "Uninstall" and "Open". I don't see an "install" or "upgrade" option. When I click "Open", it merely opens Kodi. I'm wondering why this happens.

Is it because my installed Kodi 16.1 is a customized version that can't be upgraded?
If so, do I need to uninstall Kodi 16 then install 17?
If not, is there something else that I need to do? (I am using the Confluence skin)
I've read about "side loading". I'm not positive what this means but I think that it means downloading the installation file and running it from the Android file manager. Is this correct and will this upgrade Kodi 16 without the need to uninstall and reinstall?
It could be a custom version, but more likely due to the version of android the box runs. If it's KitKat or lower (anything less than android 5 basically) then you are limited to Kodi 16.1 (Jarvis) or below. See the link below for more details.

https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=306038
The box is using Android 6.01
(2018-02-05, 18:07)dsscottage Wrote: [ -> ]Is it because my installed Kodi 16.1 is a customized version that can't be upgraded?
Probably, a log file should give us the relevant info.