Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: adding/adiministring kodi addons and profile through remote scripting
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,
We are introducing android tv box to our internet customers, preinstalling kodi 17.x as a default app along with other apps.
In kodi we want to install addons from remote also want to add user and assign profile from remote and control.
Is there any scripts/api to control over the top  apply patches, add/remote addons, configure profile and assign it to a user from our centralized servers.
I am new to kodi, hence not familiar about scripting. Is there any team who can help us in this concept.
Please do let me know if there is a way to accomplish the above task.

Thanks in advance
Arun
Hello arunraobbnl

I have passed your message on, but I have to admit I have serious concern with your intentions...

In what situation, and why, would you need to access a customers media box, create a profile and take control of it?

Maybe you can provide a lot more detail on exactly what you are setting up. A link to your company's website will be a good start.
In short: do it via ssh / vpn and ask your customer's beforehand and make it opt-in - not opt-out. This is not north korea.
please also note that if you pre-install Kodi along with customizations (like pre-installed add-ons, different skin etc) which it sounds like you're going to do (add-on to manage Kodi from remote, ...) you have to ask for permission to use our trademarked name (which likely will not be granted given these changes) or you have to rebrand Kodi (not just changing skin files, a proper rebrand and compile it yourself)! If you rebrand and commercialize Kodi, please don't become a leech and keep using our mirror infrastructure but instead create your own add-on repository. Needless to say that the support burden will also be on your shoulders when you rebrand.

edit: