Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: TV Shows on DVD (.nfo issue?) Cannot get them to show in TV Shows
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Almost newbie here.

My scenario:  All my DVDs (Movies & TV shows) were mixed up in folders on my server.  I thought that I would be able to separate the TV Show DVDs into their own folders and use KODI's 'TV Shows' to access them, just like I do the movies in 'Movies' (local scraper as I use mymovies as the movies database, and creating .nfo's is turned on in mymovies)

The TV shows I've recorded show up in 'TV shows' just fine, but the DVDs do not show at all.   I've gone through and configured my TV Show folders in libraries just like I did the TV shows I've recorded.

If I take the TV show DVD and put them into the library as movies, they work just fine in 'Movies', but not matter what I do to configure things, they don't show in 'TV Shows' 

I've searched the wikis and the forums, and can't come up with an answer other than reading that I need to have a separate .nfo for each episode, I'm stuck.  (and MyMovies creates a single .nfo per disk, even for TV shows on DVD), not sure if I've got the right info or if I'm understanding it correctly from the KODI wikis/forums.

Someone else has got to have tried to do what I am trying before me - any pointers to the right info to get this working, or am I trying to use KODI wrong?
Thanks

If I've missed the answer somewhere, I apologize.
Hello @Bobstr

Sounds like a bit of a mess there. I imagine you have a number of issues- naming, folder structure, incorrect nfo's.

Have a read of the Library set up guide and you might spot what is going wrong... https://kodi.wiki/view/HOW-TO:Create_Video_Library

Can't offer you much else as you haven't provided a debug log, screenshots, folder layout, show names, naming structure. So I'll let you hunt them down in the guide.
Thanks for the response.