Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: GSOC 2018 - Interested in Add-On Submissions Project
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi everyone, I’m Vedant Chakravadhanula. I’m from the Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati currently in my sophomore year of undergraduate study. I’m majoring in Mechanical Engineering with a minor in computer science.

Project Details:
I’m interested in working on the add-on submission website/tool as mentioned on the GSoC ideas list.

Since add - on functionality is such an essential part of Kodi, and seeing as there are so many different kinds of add-ons being written by a bunch of users, an interface for add-on submissions should encourage easy add-on creation and make sure that users can send in better add-ons.

I propose to work on a website for add-on submission, written in Python/Flask for the back-end. A simple user interface will be a major goal of the project, with a straightforward flow to ensure that even users who are less comfortable with Git/Github can easily write add - ons. To interface with Github, I propose to use the PyGithub module which would be suited to our specific needs. In addition to the mentioned technologies, HTML5, CSS and Bootstrap would ensure a good UI. Javascript would of course be a requirement to this project.

Also, the website must give opinions on the current code to try and catch some common errors early on.
Since the project is fairly easy, I propose the following additional feature: