Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Need help with deciding on the project between 4.5.1 and 4.5.3
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi, I'm Naveen. I'm a CS undergrad (well, Information Science, but our course doesn't differ much from the usual CS course) student from India.

I've been coding for a few years now, and I learnt python on my own. I built the entire platform of Musicwhim - Cloud architecture and everything else and I have some other experience helping friends on their projects as well. 

I saw the list of ideas, and I'm interested in working on [4.5.1] Add code validation and do static code analysis in Kodi's add-on checker and [4.5.3] Addon submissions.

I have used Kodi for a short duration long back, on my laptop.
Speaking of which, my primary laptop is a MacBook Pro with 10 or 12Gb Memory (I swap out the memory during summer and get it down to 10Gb because it's overheating nowadays). I have an Android Phone with 3Gb Memory. I also have access to two windows machines.

The usual stack I use for websites is Python - Flask + Bootstrap + PostgreSQL + Apache2.

Given my skills, I think I'll do a good job on 4.5.3 where I think its better to create a website for addons submission with A profile for developers, login at GitHub and send a PR in the name of the author to the correct repo and branch on Kodi's GitHub, Code check to detect any errors in their addons, some opinions on the code that will be committed before it actually gets sent, some approval mechanism (maybe?!) and so on. I believe I can code the entire website, deploy it and even maintain it Smile

4.5.1 - the addon-checker also interests me. I've downloaded the repo, and I'll try using it. It seems like a very interesting project!

I would really love to get your opinion on this and on what Project I should pursue.
I can put in atleast 30 to 40 hours per week in working on this project and more if it demands Smile