Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Questions about organizing movies
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm new to Kodi and beginning to set up my movie library. Got a couple of questions about how I should handle certain cases.

(1) Let's say I have two different versions of the same movie, both are DVD rips (VIDEO_TS). E.g., one is from a French distributor, with subtitles and extras, the other is from a German distributor, with different extras.

Q: Is there some way that I can have both of them in my movie library, automatically scraped with the same basic info, but with slightly different names so that I can pick and play either the French or the German one?

(2) Let's say I have a single DVD that contains three or four or ten different short films (e.g., shorts by Buster Keaton). Each film is in the IMDB but that have been bundled together on a single DVD.

Q: How should I handle this?

Thanks!
(2018-07-27, 15:44)mrob Wrote: [ -> ]Q: Is there some way that I can have both of them in my movie library, automatically scraped with the same basic info, but with slightly different names so that I can pick and play either the French or the German one?
Yes. You can rename movies after they have been scraped into your library by using the context menu on the specific videos.

(2018-07-27, 15:44)mrob Wrote: [ -> ](2) Let's say I have a single DVD that contains three or four or ten different short films (e.g., shorts by Buster Keaton). Each film is in the IMDB but that have been bundled together on a single DVD.
There are different options. The one that I prefere is to extract each movie and store them as a mkv or something similiar and scrape the single items. That would be the easiest solution.