Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Samba shares not working the right way?!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi there!

I'm pretty new to Kodi, although I already used to use it back in the summer via an Amazon Fire Stick on my old Samsung TV.

Yesterday, I decided to come back to Kodi and installed the App on my new SmartTV and wanted to access my shared folders on my notebook which runs now Kubuntu 18.04.
Part of these shared folders are on my internal harddrive, some others are on my external disks.

For this, I did a right click on the foldershares. There I checked Share via Samba and Permit access for everyone / guests (literally traduced from German Huh ). Furthermore I defined the share rights and gave Full controll to the user Everyone and to my regular user Chip.

Now, I can see all the shared folders, but once I choose the ones on my external harddrive, a lock preference screen appears and asks me to introduce a username and a password, which are not the same as my regular user on my notebook.

It's also very interesting, that I can enter via Kodi without any prompts / problems every shared folder in my regular /home/, i. e. /home/Downloads or /home/Pictures.
But trying to enter a folder which is stored on my external disk, results in the mentioned behaviour.

My external drives have both a static label: CHIP WD and CHIP WD Ultra (checked also with the command sudo blkid).
So I can access them on my notebook following the path: /media/CHIP WD/ or /media/CHIP WD Ultra/.

What am I doing wrong? Why I'm not allowed to access the shared folders on my external drives via Kodi?!
Do I miss some setting(s) somewhere?!

I search already via Google, but all the results I'm getting about this issue, are explaining what to do and how to change the settings on Windows, but I'm using Kubuntu 18.04.

Thank you all in advance for your support and help!
Chipy