Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Kodi Doesn't Like Olivia Newton-John
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm using Kodi 17.6 and the Titan skin. I'm not sure if this is a Kodi issue or a Titan one, but I suspect it is Kodi. I'm very new to Kodi and have been working on my music library for months.

After a lot of troubleshooting, I've discovered that Kodi doesn't like punctuation marks in artist names. In the case of Olivia Newton-John, the tags for Artist and Album Artist as well as the artist folder were properly named Olivia Newton-John with the hyphen. When that folder was read into Kodi, it stripped out the hyphen and displayed the artist as Olivia Newton John. This ended up causing some weird behavior, like the local logo graphic not being used, like remote assets being forced instead of preferring local resources as configured, and like extrafanart not cycling or only some of the extranfanart images cycling and others being ignored.

I tried renaming files, changing file types (JPG to PNG), manually configuring artwork, you name it. The next time I would come back to this artist, the information would have been "forgotten" by Kodi. Text instead of a logo, etc. 

Finally, it occurred to me to remove the hyphen from the tags in my music files and the artist folder to match what Kodi was incorrectly stripping out. After removing and re-adding the artist from/to the database, everything worked perfectly, and all the extrafanart cycled properly.

Another ambient artist whose name is Nikosf. (with the dot at the end as an intentional part of his name) also encountered the same issue. Removal of the dot from the tags fixed everything.

Ironically, Kodi has no issues with the band a-ha and its hyphen. Everything works just fine with that artist.