Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: DVD ISO stutters on v18 RC 4 on Android MediPlayer
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
DVD ISO stutters when playing on H96Pro+ mediaplayer (3GB RAM, s912 8 cores) with KODI v18 RC 4. Here is log:
ugihurodol.kodi (paste)

Same DVD ISO with same KODI version is playing smoothly on Philips 7803 TV. Here is log:
avajuhewak.kodi (paste)

What is reason for such disrepancy? Also, H96Pro+ hase more HW power than my TV.

Thanks.
Reason: different firmware. Different way of implementing Mediacodec-Surface. Kodi uses exactly the same path for both devices.
(2019-01-04, 17:50)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Reason: different firmware. Different way of implementing Mediacodec-Surface. Kodi uses exactly the same path for both devices.
It is funny that on v17.6 DVD ISO played perfectly on H96Pro+ media player and choppy on Philips TV. Now it is vice versa. No luck to satisfy both devices and obviously there were some changes in MediaCodec within KODI path from 17.6 to 18 RC 4.
Why not contirbute? Everything you need is here: github.com/xbmc - you even have both those devices!
(2019-01-04, 19:53)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Why not contirbute? Everything you need is here: github.com/xbmc - you even have both those devices!
 I would be happy to contribute but I don't have experience and I don't know where to start. I will be glad if I manage to develop fix for H96Pro+ to work fluently with DVD ISO. I will explore given link. Do you have more info for me as noobie in this field?
Yes: https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/blob/master...Android.md (General Android starting guid)
Video-Codec: https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/blob/master...aCodec.cpp
Renderer: https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/blob/master...urface.cpp <- this is used when surface rendering is done.

Start with reading the code, if you spot something obvious, just patch it in - I can build it for you on our jenkins afterwards
Low hanging fruits are perhaps here: https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/blob/master...ce.cpp#L71 <- changing that to more™ 

Btw. you could also start with a Debug Log, enable video component logging (additional to debug log) and post your log with that. In order to not "fool" the results of this log, please enable debug logging via advancedsettings.xml - we don't want the debug overlay on screen as this puts additional load on especially ByPass render devices, see here: https://kodi.wiki/view/Advancedsettings.xml#loglevel this goes to your userdata/advancedsettings.xml
(2019-01-04, 20:26)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Low hanging fruits are perhaps here: https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/blob/master...ce.cpp#L71 <- changing that to more™ 

Btw. you could also start with a Debug Log, enable video component logging (additional to debug log) and post your log with that. In order to not "fool" the results of this log, please enable debug logging via advancedsettings.xml - we don't want the debug overlay on screen as this puts additional load on especially ByPass render devices, see here: https://kodi.wiki/view/Advancedsettings.xml#loglevel this goes to your userdata/advancedsettings.xml
Here it is:
ifewutesuy.kodi (paste)

Enabled video component logging through GUI and logging thorugh advancedsettings.xml with parameter 1:
<loglevel>1</loglevel>

Anything helpful inside?
(2019-01-04, 20:26)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Low hanging fruits are perhaps here: https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/blob/master...ce.cpp#L71 <- changing that to more™ 
 Yes, great. But how to change it and to compile it to verify it on my media player?
I see - the resolution is quite minimal.

Could you please disable Mediacodec and Mediacodec Surface first? And try to play it back again. It should work with the SW decoder quite well.
(2019-01-05, 12:28)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]I see - the resolution is quite minimal.

Could you please disable Mediacodec and Mediacodec Surface first? And try to play it back again. It should work with the SW decoder quite well.
I tried and it still stutters. Less than with enabled MediaCodec but still visible.
How to change buffer in code and to try with higher number?
clone kodi, change the number, push it to your fork - I will build it for you. Just tell me the branch on your github.
(2019-01-05, 19:13)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]clone kodi, change the number, push it to your fork - I will build it for you. Just tell me the branch on your github.
Thanks but please help me in very first step installing terminal (cli) on Windows 10 to start preparation step of installing SDK and NDK needed for branch coping and changing the code. From where and how to get and install cli?
Thanks.
No need to build for now. Just fork on GitHub, change the file, push it. Our Jenkins will build.
I changed the file: RendererMediaCodecSurface.cpp

It is slightly different than one you proposed previously, some changes were already done (maybe they will also fix my problem) and buffers are now separated to max buffer size and optimal buffer size. I put 8 for both. Please, compile it to test it on my device.

I pushed and commit changes from my github account: 
Stile35 wants to merge 1 commit into master from Stile35-patch-2

Do you need some additional information in order to compile it?
Pages: 1 2