Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Buffering issues
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Good morning
Someone else been having buffering issues when streaming HDR content over the network with the new Kodi Leia ?
Using Nvidia Shield

This never happened to me before when I was using Kodi Krypton 17.6
If you use SMB - use something else and retry.
Hello fritsch

Thanks for your reply what else I can use if I streaming using my network from my Mac mini to my Nvidia Shield.
I was getting crazy buffering problems on my Shield. With some searching I found that I needed to specify cache settings in the advancedsettings.xml. Here's what's in my advancedsettings and I currently get no buffering problems at all: The cache section was what I added, the rest was in the default file on the Shield.

<advancedsettings>
 <musiclibrary>
  <backgroundupdate>true</backgroundupdate>
 </musiclibrary>
 <videolibrary>
  <cleanonupdate>false</cleanonupdate>
 </videolibrary>
 <video>
  <ignorepercentatend>10</ignorepercentatend>
  <playcountminimumpercent>90</playcountminimumpercent>
  <ignoresecondsatstart>60</ignoresecondsatstart>
 </video>
 <cache>
  <memorysize>104857600</memorysize>
  <buffermode>1</buffermode>
  <readfactor>10</readfactor>
 </cache>
</advancedsettings>
Anyone could read from the debug log why is playback of 1080p videos shuddering? Any help highly appreciated.
(2019-02-17, 17:58)el_salvadore Wrote: [ -> ]Anyone could read from the debug log why is playback of 1080p videos shuddering? Any help highly appreciated.

Quote:16:54:11.167 T:140447425456320 NOTICE: Host CPU: Intel® Atom™ CPU 330 @ 1.60GHz, 4 cores available
(...)
16:54:48.712 T:140445699012352 INFO: ffmpeg[7FBC0FFFF700]: Stream #0:0: Video: hevc (Main), yuv420p(tv, bt709), 1920x804 [SAR 1:1 DAR 160:67], 23.98 fps, 23.98 tbr, 1k tbn, 23.98 tbc (default)

I don't think your Atom has enough power to software decode HEVC @ 1080p.
@runningnaked thank you sir, I was afraid of that, just wasn't sure whether some other setting has impact on it.