Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: (v18.1) How to reset the Movie database?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have deleted all sources, but there are still a few movies that show up.

I suspect these are leftovers from when I changed the address of a source; it scanned/added the movies from the new source address (after editing), but didn't delete the entries that correspond with the old source address.
The correct way to remove Sources... https://kodi.wiki/view/Updating_or_remov...om_Library

Users always end up editing the wrong files.
(2019-04-26, 02:04)Karellen Wrote: [ -> ]The correct way to remove Sources... https://kodi.wiki/view/Updating_or_remov...om_Library

Users always end up editing the wrong files.
Thx for the quick reply. :-)
 didn't realize the context menu for a movie was different, depending on where you access it. I now found the one that has the Manage option.
There were only a few movies left, so deleting them one by one wasn't a problem.

FYI: it is a reproducible problem, though.
  1. Create a movie source; movies get scanned & added to the library
  2. Change something on the server (e.g. rename the root directory)
  3. Edit the source accordingly (Settings : Media : Library : Videos : <highlight source> : <context menu> : Edit Source : Browse etc.)
  4. Movies get scanned & added again - but the old ones stay!
  5. Delete the source
  6. ... and you end up with a bunch of orphans
Then you run a Clean Library to remove the orphans.

Your process, while correct, was never meant to be a way of substituting paths for media. It is a method to correct an error, or add additional paths to a single source entry.

It is not a bug.

You can also press <Delete> on your keyboard if you are using one.
(2019-04-26, 02:48)Karellen Wrote: [ -> ]Then you run a Clean Library to remove the orphans.

Your process, while correct, was never meant to be a way of substituting paths for media. It is a method to correct an error, or add additional paths to a single source entry.

It is not a bug.

You can also press <Delete> on your keyboard if you are using one.
Sorry, should have mentioned that this is on Xbox, so no keyboard,

I have now also found the Clean Library option, I was unaware of having to set it to Expert.

All good, thx again.
Great!!

Sorry, yes I should have immediately known you were on xBox. You correctly posted in the UWP forum, but I drift all over the forum and sometimes forget where I am and give generic advice. Smile

I'll mark this as solved.
Thread marked solved.