Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Connecting to TVHeadEnd remotely
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

I'm pretty new to TVHeadEnd (moved from the MediaPortal camp). I have a Raspberry Pi 4 with three X-Box One TV tuners. It's working well. I use the iPhone app for checking schedules, etc.

It would be really good to be able to use this app when I'm not home to set recordings, etc.

I know the idea behind this. I need to set the IP address on my phone to that provided by my internet provider and then to set port forwarding on my router. However, the guides I have found for this tend to assume that you actually understand all of this, rather than guiding you through the steps.

Does anyone have a guide that is suitable for a total newbie?

Best wishes,

Mark
(2019-07-30, 09:36)mcelliott Wrote: [ -> ]Hi,

I'm pretty new to TVHeadEnd (moved from the MediaPortal camp). I have a Raspberry Pi 4 with three X-Box One TV tuners. It's working well. I use the iPhone app for checking schedules, etc.

It would be really good to be able to use this app when I'm not home to set recordings, etc.

I know the idea behind this. I need to set the IP address on my phone to that provided by my internet provider and then to set port forwarding on my router. However, the guides I have found for this tend to assume that you actually understand all of this, rather than guiding you through the steps.

Best wishes,

Mark
i would recommend you to use a vpn, because of security reason. 
once you are in, everything shoud work like you are at home. (except multicast)
my dsl box - fritzbox - offers a dyndns and also a vpn.
do you have a fixed public ip from your isp? if not, you need something like dynamic dns. 
best
(2019-07-30, 11:08)storchi Wrote: [ -> ]i would recommend you to use a vpn, because of security reason. 
Please note the VPN policy (wiki) on this forum.