Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Running Kodi as a non-sudo user?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
On my Raspbian Buster (RaPI 4), Kodi 18.4 uses the user 'pi' which also is a sudoer.

However, as a way to "contain" what 3rd-party addons can do, I'd like to run kodi-standalone as a separate user, that has only the privileges it needs to. Is there any guide on how to do this? What privileges does Kodi need for this? What groups should the kodi-specific user belong to? Does it need sudo access?
If what you said is true that represents a horrible security risk.  Either change the default 'pi' password and adopt that user as your own user or delete the 'pi' user after you made your own.  As to your question, see: https://github.com/graysky2/kodi-standalone-service
If you start it as the default user "pi", it will run as that user of course. But you can run it as the user you want, configured as you want of course too. You should have pretty much all information about that here: https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewt...6&t=251645
(2019-10-21, 15:03)graysky Wrote: [ -> ]If what you said is true that represents a horrible security risk.

Say that to those who are using LibreELEC Wink
(2019-10-21, 14:23)ofkfok Wrote: [ -> ]On my Raspbian Buster (RaPI 4), Kodi 18.4 uses the user 'pi' which also is a sudoer.
You mean you've given you Kodi user privileged escalation? Why?
(2019-10-21, 14:23)ofkfok Wrote: [ -> ]I'd like to run kodi-standalone as a separate user, that has only the privileges it needs to.
It's what I've done - mine runs as someone called "user".
(2019-10-21, 14:23)ofkfok Wrote: [ -> ]Is there any guide on how to do this?
Yes... and I've just searched but can't see it. I followed the XBMCbuntu instructions back in the day (Ubuntu14), then later ones for getting Kodi running as a service on Ubuntu16 - I used 231955 (thread).  My media box (Gigabyte Brix) powers up straight into Kodi in about 15 seconds.
(2019-10-21, 14:23)ofkfok Wrote: [ -> ]Does it need sudo access?
No... hence I'm questioning why you felt the need to do this.