Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Atmos only on some movies
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi all,

I'm hoping I'm posting this in the proper section of the forum (Kodi newbie here Smile ).

I have a few movies (mkv, BD) with an Atmos track and on some of them I do not get Atmos working on my system.
Examples:
  1. Movie A mkv format: Atmos working. OK.
  2. Movie A BD format: no Atmos, I get LPCM 2.0 48KHz.
  3. Movie B mkv format: Atmos working. OK.
  4. Movie C mkv format: no Atmos, I get LPCM 2.0 48KHz.
My setup:
  • Kodi 18.6 Leia (Audio passthrough enabled) running on a Beelink GT-King (Android box), playing all from a NAS.
  • Box is connected directly in HDMI to a soundbar Sony HT-ZF9 (supports Atmos).
  • Soundbar is connected to a TV Sony 55XE9005 (via HDIM ARC).
Any idea what I could try ?

MaX
How is Atmos added to those movies? Dolby TrueHD or Dolby Digital Plus?
(2020-04-13, 11:42)Hitcher Wrote: [ -> ]How is Atmos added to those movies? Dolby TrueHD or Dolby Digital Plus?

A movie I have in 3 versions, I checked the 3 with MediaInfo:
  1. mkv: E-AC3 JOC (commercial name Dolby Digital Plus with Dolby Atmos) --> soundbar detects it as Dolby Atmos, OK.
  2. Blu Ray rip: I'm not sure how to read MediaInfo output. But tsMuxer for example reports the track as TureHD (AC3 core + trueHD) --> no Atmos detected by soundbar (it sees LPCM 2.0) 48KHz).
  3. Remux from the above BluRay (done by me: tsMuxer + MKVToolNix to merge back): 1st track is MLP FBA 16-ch (commercial name Dolby TrueHD with Dolby Atmos, Codec ID: A_TRUEHD) --> no Atmos detected by soundbar (it sees LPCM 2.0)
Other movies (all .mkv):
  1. 2 movies with 1st track is MLP FBA 16-ch (commercial name Dolby TrueHD with Dolby Atmos, Codec ID: A_TRUEHD) --> no Atmos detected by soundbar (it sees LPCM 2.0).

MaX.