Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Fresh Kodi 18.8 install...Simple configuration needed
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello Everyone,

I am very new to Kodi and new to this community...Please be gentle.

I am using an old laptop which I plan to make my media box for the lounge room TV. I have a number of movies (all legal) on the local hard disk of the laptop and also on a network share.

All I am looking to do at this stage is to setup Kodi in a very simple way so that the wife and kid can use it. I'm really not after anything complex. I would like Kodi to scan my movies and pull down information from the internet, including movie posters and I would like these displayed as a grid for selection...much in the same way as PLEX does.

Can anyone suggest a skin/setup guide to achieve this? I really am having some difficulty working out what to do.

Thank you in advance....

Brant
(2020-09-13, 15:31)BrantRaven Wrote: [ -> ]Can anyone suggest a skin/setup guide to achieve this?
The default installation of Kodi with it's default skin Estuary should be sufficient for your needs.
(2020-09-13, 15:31)BrantRaven Wrote: [ -> ]using an old laptop which I plan to make my media box for the lounge room TV
Laptops are at quite a disadvantage when it comes to home theatre video, they're usually designed for spreadsheets, wordpro etc. non-graphic intensive usage. Then you throw in the term 'OLD' which likely exasperates the situation. Best to do a quick installation, and try it and see if it works as you like it before devoitng a lot of time in the effort.

Note this Supported hardware (wiki)
Hi PatK,

Thank you for the reply.
Quote:The default installation of Kodi with it's default skin Estuary should be sufficient for your needs.