Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Singles and Singles node
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi!
I have been using Kodi (XBMC) for all my music since more than 10 years and I love it.
I rip all my CD's now to FLAC and scan them in Kodi to the Music database.
The only thing I have never been satisfied with is how it handles Singles.
I finally started to look into creating my own nodes in Kodi and now I have a way to handle my Singles and I am now very pleased with it.
It unfortunately means that I have to retag all my Singles but as long as it works the way I want it's good.

I have added the tag RELEASETYPE to the Mp3tag software and I use Single as the RELEASETYPE.
In the Kodi music database Single should be written to the column strType.
I have edited the "Albums" node to "doesnotcontain" value "Single" and my own created node Singles to "contains" value "Single"
This has worked great but for some reason now alot of the singles doesn't get RELASETYPE written to column strType.

I have finally maybe found what is the difference in the singles.
It seems that only FLAC works and MP3 singles doesn't get added to strType column.
Is this how it should work?
From what I remember a Single in Kodi is defined as anything that doesn't have a Album tag.
(2021-01-08, 19:07)Depeche72 Wrote: [ -> ]It seems that only FLAC works and MP3 singles doesn't get added to strType column.
It is a matter of using the right tag, and just to make life interesting these are different for different tagging formats AND different tagging software  have different names displayed on their UI for some tags. Anyway for ID3 v2.4 format (mp3 files) you a trying to add a custom tag called "MUSICBRAINZ ALBUM TYPE", if you do that then the values will go into strType when scanned.