Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Remote control question with Pi4 + TV Hat DVBT + Kodi
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello
I'm new here and I'm new with kodi.....I've got a question.
I'm going to setup a tv box with PI 4 + TV HAT + KODI just to see new Dvb T2 channels.
I'm wondering if, once setup the box with a compatible RF remote control set, is it possible to switch tv channels like in a normal Tv set.
Just for example....clicking button 2 on remote control I expect to go to Dvb T2 channel 2 and so on, or if it is mandatory opening every time kodi Tv menu and select the desired channel in the channels list.
Any feedback is really appreciated.
Thx & Bye
I've just done a quick test on my Windows PC. Start TV playing. Press number keys on the keyboard. Doesn't change channel.

To be honest, I wouldn't expect this to work with a remote either. I just go through the menus every time. It doesn't occur to me to do it differently. You don't really want TV 'playing' constantly anyway, as it will timeshift to your memory card or hard drive, which will cause wear and tear. No sense doing this unless you are actually watching.

So, for me it isn't a hassle to go to the TV guide and select a new channel.
(2021-01-24, 00:21)mcelliott Wrote: [ -> ]I've just done a quick test on my Windows PC. Start TV playing. Press number keys on the keyboard. Doesn't change channel.

To be honest, I wouldn't expect this to work with a remote either. I just go through the menus every time. It doesn't occur to me to do it differently. You don't really want TV 'playing' constantly anyway, as it will timeshift to your memory card or hard drive, which will cause wear and tear. No sense doing this unless you are actually watching.

So, for me it isn't a hassle to go to the TV guide and select a new channel.
Hi
are you using a windows pc without a remote control and not raspberry?
I think it's different.