Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Using NextPVR with HD PVR Rocket? Setting Up "HDMI Channel"?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
TLDR: How do I setup an "HDMI Channel" in NextPVR with an HD PVR Rocket?

I've been searching for the better part of an hour...about to be driven crazy by what I would think is a very straightforward setup.  I have zero experience with modern PVR server; the last time I used a capture card was Windows XP MCE, and both XBMC and WMC simply detected the stream and I moved on with my life.  Easy Peasy...anyways...

I just purchased a Hauppauge HD PVR Rocket.  This device has no IR blaster.  All over Kodi and NextPVR forums, I see various posts implying the Rocket works fine with NextPVR...I've even seen sub3 post about it.  However, I have been unable to find out HOW to make it work...reading the NextPVR wiki and various forums has gotten me nowhere.

So far, the best I can find is a quote from sub3 here: https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid...pid2512597
(2017-01-30, 23:04)sub3 Wrote: [ -> ]With NextPVR, you can setup a "HDMI" channel to represent an HDMI input on a Hauppauge capture device. If you use a Hauppauge Rocket, NextPVR will be able to work around the HDCP, without the need for extra hardware. If you're using another HDMI capture device, you'll probably need one of the HDMI splitters that remove the HDCP.

After that you can watch the "HDMI" channel in Kodi, or NextPVR itself, and see the output of your set top box.

That said, you've indicated you're not going to use an IR blaster, so this setup is going to be useless for recording etc, since the PVR software will have no way to change channels on the set top box when it needs to.

Whenever I try and scan channels, I get nothing of course.  And I cannot find a way to add a channel manually...short of maybe editing some config file somewhere.