Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: LibreElec: "New" user trying to get games to work
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm not a new LibreElec user since I've been using (a very old version of) LibreElec for many years now, but so far only used it for watching movies on an old rPi. I've ectually never installed a single add-on before so all that is completely new to me.

I just bought an rPi 3 B+ and installed LibreElec v9.2.6 (with Kodi Leia) on it. I love the fact you can play retro games on Kodi now, so I set about getting that to work. Unfortunately, that was not as easy as I hoped. Installing IAGL didn't work as described in the many tutorials out there. Every time I tried to install it the "official" way, I would get the following error: "The dependency on xbmc.python version 3.0.0 could not be satisfied.". After a long search I finally found a single post on (I think) Reddit where someone said you need to manually download an older version of IAGL and install that instead. That eventually worked.

Now as I understand it, IAGL is simply a front end hiding the tedious work of finding ROMs and Artwork, and is able to automatically run/install the proper emulator. These emulators are in the Kodi repository. Now for some reason, many of these emulators are missing. For instance, according to the wiki there should be a Nintendo DS emulator. But when I browse the emulators in the "Kodi game add-on repository (alhpa)", it's not there. Therefore I'm unable to play DS games. Checking the official Kodi Leia repo online and the DS emulator is there.