Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Does DTS-MA / Dolby TrueHD passthrough work on AMD cards?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I recently upgraded my home theater PC with An AMD 6700XT card with dual HDMI 2.1 ports. My old card was Nvidia from 2017.

I am able to get video hardware acceleration working but TrueHD audio and DTS-MA audio passthrough do not work. Both worked fine with my old Nvidia card.
Both are enabled in Kodi 19.1-6. I am running in Kodi Standalone mode on Linux Arch.
I have tried many other linux distros and its the same result.
I have tried both AMD open source and closed source drivers. Same issue.

I dont use Pulseaudio at all as it doesnt support TrueHD / DTS-MA passthrough.
I use just ALSA.

Has anyone got it working with an AMD card before?
Just trying to narrow down if it is specific to AMD or maybe just the new card I have.

Thanks.
my apologies for duplicate post.  I am new to this forum and I thought I could go back and fix a spelling mistake but when I couldn't find it, I thought I could create a new post and delete the old one but am not seeing an option for that either.
Does the output of aplay -L list your AMD card?
(2021-08-23, 10:08)black_eagle Wrote: [ -> ]Does the output of aplay -L list your AMD card?

Hi black_eagle.  Yes it does.
It lists 6 HDMI cards:
HDMI 0,1,2,3,4,5
All reference my AMD card as: HDA ATI HDMI.
Just for some more details:
It passes DTS-HD 5.1 content no problem to my receiver.
It also passed Dolby Digital (AC-3) 5.1 content no problem to my receiver.
Other formats like FLAC or two channel audio also work.
Its only the higher quality DTS-MA and True-HD that isn't working.
Note: I can't confirm if Dolby Atmos or DTS-X/DTS-X Pro work or not, as I don't have a receiver capable of processing that audio format yet.