Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Synology DS214se
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
hi i am very new with these drives and would like to ask when you add your movies to the server do you have to add all movies example under movies or can you add different folders for different movies . do the makers of these drives see what you are looking at in your collection . and will it go through kodi as i am running win 10 kodi matrix 19
thanks for your advice
The normal recommendation is to have one or more source folders for your movies (and similar separate ones for TV shows). In the movies folder, the recommended way is to have a sub-folder for each movie, with each one containing the media file for the movie (the actual .mkv or .mp4 file etc) plus any related metadata files like posters etc. It is possible to keep all movies in one folder (or a mixture of folders) if you want to do so, but it's up to you. For movies everything is scanned recursively anyway, so the only reason for the single folder per movie recommendation is to keep the metadata files separate.

For details of that, see the wiki - https://kodi.wiki/view/Naming_video_files/Movies

As to what the makers see, generally speaking no the NAS supplier/maker won't see anything. At least that's the public view of it, as to the reality it would depend on how paranoid you are... Wink
Certainly from our side we make no data gathering on who watches what etc in Kodi.