Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Adding different colored buttons for home screen (Estuary)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,

I am attempting to create my own Kodi skin, using Estuary as a base. I am very new to skinning on Kodi, so I have referenced all I could find for learning the GUI library; Kodi wiki, documentation, sticky posts on this forum, etc. Unfortunately, I'm not making much headway on my project.

Currently, I am trying to have different colored buttons for the home screen. The mockup below shows what I am trying to achieve. After some random prodding, I did manage to add a background color to the list items by adding a texture call to the image control on line 907:

Code:
<control type="image">
                                <left>0</left>
                                <top>0</top>
                                <width>462</width>
                                <height>195</height>
                                <texture colordiffuse="green">lists/focus.png</texture>
                                </control>

However, this is added to each button on the list, and not individual buttons. I have tried adding texture calls to the individual items listed between lines 932-1042, but they do not appear. I've also tried editing the control group on line 861, but was only able to change the focus background color used for all buttons. I also wasn't able to add an unfocused texture to this group.

I've run out of things to try; I hope someone here can point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance.

@FOFTech

You may not have read all our forum rules, but we are not allowing names of commercial companies as a username.
So, kindly have your username changed to a better suited one, which can be done here: https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid...&page=last
Thanks in advance.
Alright, took care of the name.  Anyone care to assist with the original issue please?