AKL Gamestream Plugin Crashes when setting up the scanner. It does this after presenting the PIN to enter.
https://paste.kodi.tv/kuvoqocije
" File "/storage/emulated/0/Android/data/org.xbmc.kodi/files/.kodi/addons/script.akl.nvgamestream/resources/lib/gamestream.py", line 173, in pairServer salt = crypto.randomBytes(16) ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
File "/storage/emulated/0/Android/data/org.xbmc.kodi/files/.kodi/addons/script.akl.nvgamestream/resources/lib/crypto.py", line 239, in randomBytes return get_random_bytes(size) ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
NameError: name 'get_random_bytes' is not defined"
Back from christmas holiday and a happy new year.
Got a new 1.3.0 RC available which should fix the category delete function and the isempty issue with the scraping (@
Juppstein). Also added a new view for ROM details, accessible through the 'View ROM' context menu option.
The gamestream randombytes issue (@
mousex110 ) looks like an import issue with "pycryptodomex". The error message is indicating that this one is missing. If the message generated from running the python script yourself, than it could be a missing import (pip install -r requirements.txt) or try installing "pycryptodome" (
https://pypi.org/project/pycryptodome/), the original package.
In the case you were running it from Kodi, then it looks like kodi is missing the particular module in its python library. Maybe this forum thread gives some more background about it (
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid...cryptodome). You can also go to settings -> addons in Kodi and look up the Gamestream addon. Open up the addon details and go through the dependencies. It should indicate that it depends on the script.module.pycryptodome package, version 3.4.3. Perhaps you can install it from there.
A happy new year to you as well! The new View Rom screen looks quite nice so far

, thanks a bunch! What i saw while trying out things is that there somehow is no way to remove an item from the AKL favorites once you've added them. At least I found now way to do that from the menus aside from deleting the game from the library and re-run a scrape.
A question about the scrapers in general: When I try to scrape a movie or music album and the scraper does not find a direct match I can opt to choose from near matches and pick the item from there. When using game scrapers I get the impression it takes the game file, i.e. a zip, extracts it and compares the MD5 or something similar with the entry of the online database to find the right match. Thing is that for some systems, like the Amiga or C64, there are so many variants around that are not in the database, that you get no match and also the scraper does not give you the chance to pick from a list of near matches (i.e. by name given). Would there be a way to allow getting results from a list based on entered names?
Quick Edit: Not sure in which update that happened but when I am in the main menu of the Zephyr Reloaded skin from your repo my backgrounds are somehow mirrored and shown twice on top of each other when I use widgets that involve showing metadata text from the currently active item in the carousel . Is there a way to get rid of that effect? I searched through the settings a few times but I wasn't able to find the right toggle to disable the effect.
(2023-01-02, 12:28)Juppstein Wrote: [ -> ]A happy new year to you as well! The new View Rom screen looks quite nice so far
, thanks a bunch! What i saw while trying out things is that there somehow is no way to remove an item from the AKL favorites once you've added them. At least I found now way to do that from the menus aside from deleting the game from the library and re-run a scrape.
A question about the scrapers in general: When I try to scrape a movie or music album and the scraper does not find a direct match I can opt to choose from near matches and pick the item from there. When using game scrapers I get the impression it takes the game file, i.e. a zip, extracts it and compares the MD5 or something similar with the entry of the online database to find the right match. Thing is that for some systems, like the Amiga or C64, there are so many variants around that are not in the database, that you get no match and also the scraper does not give you the chance to pick from a list of near matches (i.e. by name given). Would there be a way to allow getting results from a list based on entered names?
Quick Edit: Not sure in which update that happened but when I am in the main menu of the Zephyr Reloaded skin from your repo my backgrounds are somehow mirrored and shown twice on top of each other when I use widgets that involve showing metadata text from the currently active item in the carousel . Is there a way to get rid of that effect? I searched through the settings a few times but I wasn't able to find the right toggle to disable the effect.
I did not yet refactored the favourites part in AKL. So it is still the AEL original code mostly and probably I didn't migrate that correctly. Will put it on the list of things todo.
About the scraping part, that is correct if you use Screenscraper as the particular scraper. That one is searching based on the the file hashes. (reminds me that I wanted to ask how it reacted if you unzipped the files because of the zip module issue from before). Alternatives are TheGamesDB and MobyGames, which give you more title based searches. It still all depends on the source and what kind of search options they have. Some might be more strict with the keywords and give less results, others might not. My experience is that for actual console ROMs Screenscraper is the best solution, with just minimal adjustments for certain cases. I use the other scrapers mostly for my PC games.
Do you have a screenshot perhaps for the Arctic Zephyr issue? I am not aware of this issue at least, but perhaps it could be because of something I did. You never know.
Here is a screenshot of the double image behaviour
https://imgur.com/KvbBUyG
As for the scrapers, did you see my post from 21. December about the MobyGames one?
(2023-01-03, 11:14)Juppstein Wrote: [ -> ]Here is a screenshot of the double image behaviour
https://imgur.com/KvbBUyG
As for the scrapers, did you see my post from 21. December about the MobyGames one?
I havent seen this happening before and I dont think it is coming from my changes. I have a feeling where this might be coming from, but I will have to mess with settings on my box to try it out. Maybe check the Arctic zephyr thread in the forum to see if others experience the same.
The issue with the MobyGames scraper should be fixed with the RC I released.
(2022-12-06, 07:20)iqbd Wrote: [ -> ]Hi Chrisism,
I'm brand new to Kodi, and I want to use it to launch my games—AKL seems like the best choice
I'm trying to add an item to the context menu on a ROM (using https://kodi.wiki/view/Context_Item_Add-ons), but I can't figure out exactly what the menu ID is for a ROM (or if there's a specific conditional visibility). (Specifically, I'm trying to add a counter so that if a game does not support multiple saves, my helper tool can create a separate save file.) I tried looking in the AKL and AEL code on Github, and it seems like it's being built dynamically. Do you have any advice on how to proceed? Thanks.
The latest 1.3.0 RC might be interesting for you. I added the view rom page which shows more details about the game/roms. As such it is an easy way of adding more custom information, along with the solution given before. For the 1.3.0 final release I will be adding the option to automaticly open up the view rom page when clicking on a game instead of directly launching them.
Hi there. I’m not a programmer at all just putting that out there so I would need to ready about python for my endeavor. Honestly I’m just looking to launch Playnite in Kodi. I already have it setup as my emulator launcher and I’m building a HTPC for cutting the cord and want it to launch into Kodi for my TV front end and then switch to Playnite for games. Right now I have it the other way around. So isn’t is it simple to just launch a app with AKL?
(2023-01-06, 03:16)Rockcrusher0101 Wrote: [ -> ]Hi there. I’m not a programmer at all just putting that out there so I would need to ready about python for my endeavor. Honestly I’m just looking to launch Playnite in Kodi. I already have it setup as my emulator launcher and I’m building a HTPC for cutting the cord and want it to launch into Kodi for my TV front end and then switch to Playnite for games. Right now I have it the other way around. So isn’t is it simple to just launch a app with AKL?
Yes, it is simple to just launch an app with AKL. You can add it as a single/standalone rom with a file launcher and point it to Playnite exe. This works.
But why switch from one media library to another? AKL is similar to Playnite and brings all the games directly into Kodi. Currently supporting Steam and file-based solutions. Planning to add GoG launcher support soon. (which can be used to also cover Epic and Steam launchers). Integrating Playnite directly into AKL would also be possible, but that would mean programming a fitting solution indeed.
(2023-01-01, 17:20)chrisism Wrote: [ -> ]The gamestream randombytes issue (@mousex110 ) looks like an import issue with "pycryptodomex". The error message is indicating that this one is missing. If the message generated from running the python script yourself, than it could be a missing import (pip install -r requirements.txt) or try installing "pycryptodome" (https://pypi.org/project/pycryptodome/), the original package.
In the case you were running it from Kodi, then it looks like kodi is missing the particular module in its python library. Maybe this forum thread gives some more background about it (https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid...cryptodome). You can also go to settings -> addons in Kodi and look up the Gamestream addon. Open up the addon details and go through the dependencies. It should indicate that it depends on the script.module.pycryptodome package, version 3.4.3. Perhaps you can install it from there.
Thanks for the reply. Hope you had a good Christmas and New Year.
I am trying to set the scanner up on a Nvidia Shield pro - Android 9.1, so I have been trying direct from kodi. The gamestream plugin dependencies list "python crypto library" minimum 3.4.3/ 3.4.3 installed.
I have run the scanner setup wizard on my pc and was able to get past this step, the gamestream plugin dependencies list also has "python crypto library" minimum 3.4.3/ 3.4.3 installed. So I dont know if this issue is specific to android.
I also tried installing this "https://github.com/garvord/script.module.pycryptodome" 6 years old, this changed the dependency for gamestream plugin from "python crypto library" to "pycryptodome", however listed it as unavailable. I am assuming that it is this one I need "https://github.com/Legrandin/pycryptodome" however I dont know how to install that directly as an addon from a zip.
Thanks again for your help
I am guessing that my issue with installing pycryptodome as a kodi addon is due to python crypto library being already installed, meaning that pycryptodomex is required, I just dont know how to either uninstall python crypto library or install pycryptodomex directly from kodi.
(2023-01-07, 13:59)mousex110 Wrote: [ -> ]I am guessing that my issue with installing pycryptodome as a kodi addon is due to python crypto library being already installed, meaning that pycryptodomex is required, I just dont know how to either uninstall python crypto library or install pycryptodomex directly from kodi.
I believe they added this library by default to Kodi since a while actually. I will dig in the forum threads if I can find something similar. Perhaps somebody else has similar issues with a total different addon that uses cryptography. What was your system setup again?
For me it works at least with Kodi Nexus 20 on Android (Nvidia Shield). I didnt install anything extra though.
I am running Nvidia Shield - Android 9.1 - Kodi Nexus RC1 have also tried RC2
I started a clean install, added your dev repository. Installed AKL, AKL default plugins and Gamestream plugin. I then add certs to plugins addon date "certificates folder". Then add collection, then add scanner.
(2023-01-06, 12:20)chrisism Wrote: [ -> ]Yes, it is simple to just launch an app with AKL. You can add it as a single/standalone rom with a file launcher and point it to Playnite exe. This works.
But why switch from one media library to another? AKL is similar to Playnite and brings all the games directly into Kodi. Currently supporting Steam and file-based solutions. Planning to add GoG launcher support soon. (which can be used to also cover Epic and Steam launchers). Integrating Playnite directly into AKL would also be possible, but that would mean programming a fitting solution indeed.
I may plan to bring the library there. I’ve been through a lot of launchers to get to Playnite before this. I tried Batocera, Launchbox, Emulation Station and now Playnite. I’d rather do everything in one front end like launching windows apps and games too. Does AKL support more recent emulators such as Citra, RPCS3, and WiiU and launch straight into those games? The mini PC I’m using can launch all those and plan to play those games as well.
I’ll do what you Recommended as the rom. I assume this method will also work with the Netflix, Amazon Video, Disney Plus apps from the windows store as well?
I am looking for like what you stated. It’s been two weeks of slowly importing metadata then failing to get what I was hoping to do.
Sorry I just tried this and it’s giving me an error with it. Is this compatible with 19.4 Kodi?