Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: New menu in Home
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Hello, I have 4 folders on my HDD : Movies, TV Shows, Animes, and Anime films. I would like to add to the home menu Animes and Anime films. I guess it requires some skinning (should I have posted the message in Skinning ?)


I also would like to add them when scraping, here :Image

Thanks
Try using one of the modded versions of Estuary being discussed in this sub-forum. I'm sure one of them will be able to do what you are looking for.
Thanks for your answer, the problem is that I would like to use the Estuary skin, not a modded one since I already did some skinning on the original estuary skin.
(2022-07-07, 16:35)Bungee_G Wrote: [ -> ]Thanks for your answer, the problem is that I would like to use the Estuary skin, not a modded one since I already did some skinning on the original estuary skin.

Do you mean you have already forked and modded the original Estuary skin? Is this what you mean by "did some skinning on the original estuary"?

It is never recommended to alter the main skin directly, always use a copy.
Once you have added them as a source , download “ library node editor”from kodi repo and then create a node for each one . Then you can find them in “ user data-library-video. Once you have that done post again and I will give you the next step.
No, I meant a copy.
(2022-07-07, 16:45)ontap Wrote: [ -> ]Once you have added them as a source , download “ library node editor”from kodi repo and then create a node for each one . Then you can find them in “ user data-library-video. Once you have that done post again and I will give you the next step.
Okay thanks, do you mean a node or a parent node ? Is it from here :Image

Also, there is already a node for Movies and TV Shows so I have to create only 2 ?
Scrap above , easiest way is he following
go into , settings-media-videos. then right clik or long press on OK on one of your sources and save it to favs.
Then in home.xml in default estuary around about line 926. copy and paste the movies item box as below .
<item>
                            <label>$LOCALIZE[342]</label>
                            <onclick condition="Library.HasContent(movies) + Skin.HasSetting(home_no_categories_widget)">ActivateWindow(Videos,videodb://movies/,return)</onclick>
                            <onclick condition="Library.HasContent(movies) + !Skin.HasSetting(home_no_categories_widget)">ActivateWindow(Videos,videodb://movies/titles/,return)</onclick>
                            <onclick condition="!Library.HasContent(movies)">ActivateWindow(Videos,sources://video/,return)</onclick>
                            <property name="menu_id">$NUMBER[5000]</property>
                            <thumb>icons/sidemenu/movies.png</thumb>
                            <property name="id">movies</property>
                            <visible>!Skin.HasSetting(HomeMenuNoMovieButton)</visible>
                        </item>
Go back into userdata -favourites and copy  ActivateWindow.  etc , between ><
then back to home.xml 
then replace   ActivateWindow(Videos,sources://video/,return).  with the copied line and replace $LOCALIZE[342] between <label></label> with your choice of name.
Before doing any of this I would go into the addon.xml and change the version number  version="3.0.5"  , add a couple of zeros "300.0.5" , so that any future update to the skin is blocked then you won't lose your changes.
(2022-07-07, 17:16)ontap Wrote: [ -> ]Scrap above , easiest way is he following
go into , settings-media-videos. then right clik or long press on OK on one of your sources and save it to favs.
Then in home.xml in default estuary around about line 926. copy and paste the movies item box as below .
<item>
                            <label>$LOCALIZE[342]</label>
                            <onclick condition="Library.HasContent(movies) + Skin.HasSetting(home_no_categories_widget)">ActivateWindow(Videos,videodb://movies/,return)</onclick>
                            <onclick condition="Library.HasContent(movies) + !Skin.HasSetting(home_no_categories_widget)">ActivateWindow(Videos,videodb://movies/titles/,return)</onclick>
                            <onclick condition="!Library.HasContent(movies)">ActivateWindow(Videos,sources://video/,return)</onclick>
                            <property name="menu_id">$NUMBER[5000]</property>
                            <thumb>icons/sidemenu/movies.png</thumb>
                            <property name="id">movies</property>
                            <visible>!Skin.HasSetting(HomeMenuNoMovieButton)</visible>
                        </item>
Go back into userdata -favourites and copy  ActivateWindow.  etc , between ><
then back to home.xml 
then replace   ActivateWindow(Videos,sources://video/,return).  with the copied line and replace $LOCALIZE[342] between <label></label> with your choice of name.
Before doing any of this I would go into the addon.xml and change the version number  version="3.0.5"  , add a couple of zeros "300.0.5" , so that any future update to the skin is blocked then you won't lose your changes.
Okay thanks, I will try this, but do I have to create new nodes ?

Edit : so this is what I did (I didn't create nodes by the way), I added in Home.xml :
<item>
                            <label>ANIME</label>
                            <onclick condition="Library.HasContent(movies) + Skin.HasSetting(home_no_categories_widget)">ActivateWindow(Videos,videodb://movies/,return)</onclick>
                            <onclick condition="Library.HasContent(movies) + !Skin.HasSetting(home_no_categories_widget)">ActivateWindow(Videos,videodb://movies/titles/,return)</onclick>
                            <onclick condition="!Library.HasContent(movies)">ActivateWindow(10025,&quot;C:\\Users\\younm\\Downloads\\Nouveau dossier (2)\\&quot;,return)</onclick>
                            <property name="menu_id">$NUMBER[5000]</property>
                            <thumb>icons/sidemenu/movies.png</thumb>
                            <property name="id">movies</property>
                            <visible>!Skin.HasSetting(HomeMenuNoMovieButton)</visible>
</item>

Now the ANIME menu appear on the home menu but when I click on ANIME, it shows the same thing as when i click on moviesImage
Image
And it is written Movies not ANIME:Image
Sorry had to pop out , OK , to fix it , change as below.
<item>
                            <label>ANIME</label>
                            <onclick condition="Library.HasContent(movies) + Skin.HasSetting(home_no_categories_widget)">ActivateWindow(10025,&quot;C:\\Users\\younm\\Downloads\\Nouveau dossier (2)\\&quot;,return)</onclick>
                            <onclick condition="Library.HasContent(movies) + !Skin.HasSetting(home_no_categories_widget)">ActivateWindow(10025,&quot;C:\\Users\\younm\\Downloads\\Nouveau dossier (2)\\&quot;,return)</onclick>
                            <onclick condition="!Library.HasContent(movies)">ActivateWindow(10025,&quot;C:\\Users\\younm\\Downloads\\Nouveau dossier (2)\\&quot;,return)</onclick>
                            <property name="menu_id">$NUMBER[5000]</property>
                            <thumb>icons/sidemenu/movies.png</thumb>
                            <property name="id">movies</property>
                            <visible>!Skin.HasSetting(HomeMenuNoMovieButton)</visible>
</item>
Thanks, now when I click on "ANIME" from the home menu, it displays only the animes from that directory. So just as a test, I only put under "ANIME" the anime named "a silent voice" and as you can see under "ANIME" it appears :
Image

but even if there is only one anime, on the homescreen it displays all the movies and not only "a silent voice" :
Image

Also, the anime "a silent voice" is still in "Movies" even if it's under "ANIME" :
Image
"when I click on "ANIME" from the home menu, it displays only the animes from that directory."  surely this is the correct action for "Animes" on home menu ?
When you added "Anime" as a source , you will have scanned it into lbrary so it will be in "Movies" because that category "titles" is the entire movie library.
Yes it is the correct action.
So in "Movies", there will always be the content from "Movies" and the content from "ANIME"
Is it possible to make only the animes from "ANIME" appear on the homescreen ? As you can see, there is not only "a silent voice" which is the only anime under "ANIME" but also the movies from "Movies"
Under Movies , you would need to point the action to a source/selection other than titles. What would you like to see when you click on Movies ?
Do you want to remove the Movies item completely ?
Couldn't you edit the Movies menu item to point to a new smart playlist that includes movies, but not anime?
special://skin/playlists/movies_no_anime.xsp
Pages: 1 2 3 4