Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Few questions before update 16.x to 19.x
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi guys. 
Long story short.
I have been using Kodi for several years  but never had a need of updating it to newer version than 16.0.
Even today it works fine but I decided that it's a time to refresh it.

Now, before I do an update, I would like to ask you if I can just install the new version over the old one or if it might cause any significant problems if the old files are left?
I will do a backup of old files just in case but would like to know if the sctucture of folders/files with settings, databases, etc. is kept the same through new releases.

Maybe you have some extra tips to share when doing updates, I will appreciate the info. 

Cheers
(2022-08-09, 10:31)Streamfantastic Wrote: [ -> ]Now, before I do an update, I would like to ask you if I can just install the new version over the old one or if it might cause any significant problems if the old files are left?
No, not a good idea to install over the old version. v19 changed to using Python v3, which means most of the addons you have installed for v16 won't work in v19.
It is better to remove the old version and install fresh.

This raises other issues about your library. Do you have local artwork? How did you add media to the library - through nfo files or scraping. How old is your library?
I am assuming you have had the library set up for quite a few years, which means the entries are old, which also means that possibly a lot of artwork in your library is no longer available at the scraper sites.
So while I would normally suggest exporting your library to nfo files, I think in this case it might cause more problems if you don't have local artwork. Also there were major changes to scrapers in v17 and v18 so if you rescrape your library again with v19, you will find you have more and better metadata.