Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Vista Business or Ubuntu ???
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

Running a AMD 4600 with onboard ATI 3200 and 2 GB of RAM. What will run leaner Vista Business (no MCE) or Ubuntu ??

Without the alternate ffmpeg files I see some judder.

Kryspy
I don't think lean and vista anything belong in the same sentence. I would try XBMC Live if I were you. That is an easy way to try XBMC on linux. I would have to say I would throw my hat into the Ubuntu circle. I personally don't run it anymore, but I would say it is pretty speedy. You can really strip it down if you know what you are doing and make it run even faster.

Note: I'm no linux expert. I played with it for a few weeks and it seemed pretty snappy compared to my vista ultimate install on the same machine.
My decision was for Vista Business since I wanted to play some PC Games and use Blu-Ray playback. But if this is a 100% HTPC where you only want to run XBMC then ubuntu is probably the way to go.

The only issue I can see with ubuntu is hibernation and sleep. Some configurations have problems with it while others work nicely. You might want to test this before making a final decision.

From a speed perspective you shouldn't have any issues since XBMC is really well coded and optimized and will run very fast.
ubuntu!!
Hey Kryspy. Good question, and one that I struggled with as well.

I started off by running Vista Ultimate, because I wanted all the functionality of my HiperGroup HiperMedia case, including the built in IR and VFD display. Pretty cool case with AMD chipset and ATU Express 1200 graphics. http://www.hipergroup.com/products.php?l...27&pid=124