Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Analog multichannel and custom alsa-device: DTS problems
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
edit: I think I solved the problem. For some reason, center and subwoofer channel are reversed in xbmc. Channel number 4 used to be the center, channel 5 the subwoofer - at least that's a correct mapping when checking the surround setup with the tool speaker-test provided by alsa-utils. For some reason, xbmc puts the center to channel number 5 and the sub at channel number 4 Sad

Hello,

I'm quite new to xbmc (coming from mythtv/mythvideo), and I'm trying to configure xbmc to suit my needs.
I am using a custom alsa device instead of the default surround51 for analog multichannel, because my current audio setup lacks a center speaker (I have two stereo amps, one for the front speakers, one for the rear speakers, my subwoofer has its own amp).
The custom device does simple channel routing via $HOME/.asoundrc - it routes the center channel to the front speakers:
Code:
pcm.51to41 {
    type route
    slave.pcm surround51
    slave.channels 6
    ttable.0.0 1
    ttable.1.1 1
    ttable.2.2 1
    ttable.3.3 1
    ttable.4.0 0.8
    ttable.4.1 0.8
    ttable.5.5 1
}
I set analogmultichannel to true in advancedconfig. XBMC seems to default to the surround51 device and ignores the device I specified in the audio configuration in the GUI.
I changed cores/dvdplayer/ALSADirectSound.cpp to use my 51to41 device instead of surround51.
This modification works fine when I play a movie with AC3 sound and I thought I found a workaround for my problem.
For some reason though, XBMC does an output to surround51 instead of 51to41 when I play movies with DTS audio. There is no reference to the surround[51|50|40] in ALSADirectSound.cpp anymore - I replaced it with 51to41. I can't find any more references to surround51 anywhere in the XBMC code.