Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Ubuntu 8.10 64bit + XBMC 32bit.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm running 64bit version of Ubuntu Intrepid and I have it all tweaked and set up to work with my remote, boot with my HDTV and everything. However XBMC 64bit itself is not quite stable: It totally crash if I try to play DVD folders, it crash in menus sometimes, it crash with Apple Movie Time plugin....

I understand now 64bit version is not stable in general because all devs work and debug on 32bit Ubuntu.

So my question is can I install 32bit version of XBMC without reinstalling Ubuntu? What kind of 32bit dependencies I need to install as well to have everything working? Other than standard ia32 package which is there by default.

If anyone can give me straight-forward howto, would be nice. Note I'm new to Ubuntu but consider myself experienced in Slackware which I'm using part or full-time since the '90s.

You know what they say: "...learn Slackware and you know any Linux!", so I'm sure it won't be that hard Big Grin
search the forums, i know someone's posted about this before. sorry i haven't been keeping 64-bit up to date.
Thanks, malloc. I have searched but found nothing before.

Now when I knew it's there I searched harder and found what you referred to here:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=33671

Thats all I needed. I use this guide now and install 32bit chroot'ed env. with bootstrap/schroot here:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/DebootstrapChroot

Aside from some minor glitches, adaptations and errors I now have this:
Linux htpc 2.6.27-7-generic #1 SMP Thu Oct 30 04:12:22 UTC 2008 i686 GNU/Linux

Now I'm going to install XBMC and see how it goes with Mesa, X sessions and Lircd Big Grin

Thanks!

P.S. Links posted to help others who might be interested.