Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: I am thinking about moving from windows to linux, need some advices
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Dear all,

I am using XBMC for years and have recently bought a dedicated HTPC to enjoy HD Content. As I have little knowledge on Linux, I have set up the pc with windows.
XBMC works great, but I have a nVidia 8400GS that I don't use at the moment, and I would like to try VDPAU Support. Plus, the fact that xbmc is primarily build for Linux makes me wish to give it a try.

I will try to describe shortly how I use my htpc today, and I would like you to tell me if I will be able to get the same result with Linux.
Firstly Hardware :
MOBO : GIGABYTE MA78GPM-DS2H (AMD 780G)
CPU : AMD 4850e
RAM : 2GB
HD : SATA 1,5T
SCREEN : FULL HDTV connected through HDMI to the IGP (Radeon HD 3200)

Obviously, since I want to try VDPAU, I will disable the Radeon IGP and put my 8400GS In Place.
The 8400GS is a Gainward wich can pass sound threw HDMI if connected to internal SPDIF out connector of the mobo.

My sound setup is ugly, but from the moment, no money to buy something better, here is how it is configured :
The PC send the sound to the TV through HDMI, the analog sound out connector of my TV is wired to my old (very old) hifi. I have no other way with the sound, so the linux setup Must enable me to send the sound threw HDMI.

Concerning the remote, I am using the mce receiver and a standard mce remote (logitech harmony in fact). I have read that this remote is supported out of the box under linux : great, but will I be able to put the PC in S3 State and resume it with this remote, as i am doing in windows ?

Also, even if it is a dedicated HTPC, I want to be able to do simple task on it, just by closing XBMC, I Mean, browsing the web, Managing Files, I also need to be able to connect to windows shares ...