Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: DVD Ripping
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've started to create my own dvd ripping facility for XBMC for linux. I was searching everywhere for this feature but for some reason no one has created it.

I was wondering if anyone else would like to help develop this so we can make it a nice feature!!

1st of all I installed dvdbackup onto Ubuntu from the standard repo.

Then as I have no knowledge whatsoever of python I found a simple command line for dvdbackup that worked under terminal:-

dvdbackup -M -o /home/paul(as thats my login home dir)/Videos

This creates a directory taken from the name of the dvd and copies the VIDEO_TS folder into it.

I then checked in XBMC and this found it fine and as the name was correct found the artwork etc and it plays fine.

Then I managed to create a simple default.py file and added my ./xbmc directory under scripts. The file is simply as follows.

Code:
import os
os.system("dvdbackup -M -o /home/paul/Videos")

I then accessed this script in XBMC and it worked great with a running message next to it until it had completed.

I then moved this default.py into a directory called DVD RIP with a image named default.tbn and put this directory into my ./XBMC/plugins/video directory.

Now I can access this from watch my videos, video plugin.

Here is where I would love someone to help develop.

2 Things.

1. I would love it to show the progress instead of at the moment it just comes up saying LOADING DIRECTORY RETRIEVED 0 ITEMS until compete.

2. There is another command we can add to dvdbackup making the command:-

dvdbackup -M -n NAMEOFTHEMOVIE -o /home/paul/Videos

What i would like is a menu asking the NAMEOFTHEMOVIE so in XBMC we can either use a keyboard or a remote to name the movie correctly so it will then always come up correct.