Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: [RELEASE] iPlayer - BBC Video and Music Plugin (UK only!)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
monty77uk Wrote:Thanks .. so there's no way to fudge them into an existing live installation then?

Cheers for all the quick replies, will be patient if required Smile
Monty
Exobuzz has a 'live' version here: http://malus.exotica.org.uk/~buzz/xbmc/linux/ and the readme file is here: http://malus.exotica.org.uk/~buzz/xbmc/readme.txt

I don't know much about it as I'm an xbox XBMC user, but I'm sure that another forum member will put you right if you are struggling.
mobile Wrote:Exobuzz has a 'live' version here: http://malus.exotica.org.uk/~buzz/xbmc/linux/ and the readme file is here: http://malus.exotica.org.uk/~buzz/xbmc/readme.txt

I don't know much about it as I'm an xbox XBMC user, but I'm sure that another forum member will put you right if you are struggling.

Thanks!

Grabbed the deb file (I think I got the right one) and I got:

[email protected]_lr:~$ sudo dpkg -i xbmc-live_9.11+svn28256-lucid2_all.deb
sudo: unable to resolve host XBMCLive_lr
Selecting previously deselected package xbmc-live.
(Reading database ... 44509 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking xbmc-live (from xbmc-live_9.11+svn28256-lucid2_all.deb) ...
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of xbmc-live:
xbmc-live depends on xbmc-standalone (= 1:9.11+svn28256-lucid2); however:
Version of xbmc-standalone on system is 1:9.11-karmic1.
xbmc-live depends on mkpasswd; however:
Package mkpasswd is not installed.
dpkg: error processing xbmc-live (--install):
dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Errors were encountered while processing:
xbmc-live

Any help from the non XBOX users much appreciated Smile
Monty
Sorry that I can't be of further help. I am a ubuntu linux user but I don't have XBMC installed on it.
you need the other files it mentions as dependencies from my site also. However I can't really give instructions on how to build a new live cd with them. Perhaps someone else has done this. Maybe some vlues here http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW..._ISO_image
exobuzz Wrote:you need the other files it mentions as dependencies from my site also. However I can't really give instructions on how to build a new live cd with them. Perhaps someone else has done this. Maybe some vlues here http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW..._ISO_image

Thanks!

..I've gotten rid of live, had some other problems and decided to put a 'proper' Ubuntu install on there instead now. Running latest Ubuntu Lucid + XBMC with all updates.

Cheers,
Monty
edit: this is wrong, please see edit below
hmm doesn't seem reliable for me now on the xbox.
it starts loading up to "Selecting subtitles" (and sits there for a long time, maybe 10 seconds)
then quickly shows "Playing",
then the playing time box appears at stays at 00:00:00
then nothing happens. like a hang (but xbox not actually hung)
pressing STOP weirdly causes a few seconds of audio to play before dropping back to the menu!

where's the debug output gone? i wanted to check free memory but using your build, i see only the screenshot folder option under debugging.

using xTV skin and exobuzz's May 4th rtmp build
i have reset plugin settings to defaults, didn't help.

Akamai seems better than Limelight (Limelight just errors out and doesn't even load to the start of stream).

edit: problem seems to be just that its paused at the start of the stream and not unpausing. basically you just have to press Play manually. (going fullscreen shows the stream is loaded!). weird because this was never necessary before, it'd just start playing when you selected a programme.
buffering is also very slow not sure if that's my network though. i also confirm the blurry strip along bottom, but this isn't important. so is there some setting that could prevent automatic play or cause it to not unpause? never had this problem before! sorry.

so (lots of points sorry!)

1) why do i have to press play after loading a stream?
2) why does "selecting subtitles" appear to take ages, when subtitles is set to "none"
3) why is buffering so very slow today (just me?!) possibly related to above
4) old issue: why can i not access plugin settings from the stream right click menu, but have to go up a level.
5) there's a blurry strip along the bottom (but who really cares if it works)
6) why do limelight streams not work (are all streams on both services?)
Smiff Wrote:edit: this is wrong, please see edit below
hmm doesn't seem reliable for me now on the xbox.
it starts loading up to "Selecting subtitles" (and sits there for a long time, maybe 10 seconds)
then quickly shows "Playing",
then the playing time box appears at stays at 00:00:00
then nothing happens. like a hang (but xbox not actually hung)
pressing STOP weirdly causes a few seconds of audio to play before dropping back to the menu!

where's the debug output gone? i wanted to check free memory but using your build, i see only the screenshot folder option under debugging.

using xTV skin and exobuzz's May 4th rtmp build
i have reset plugin settings to defaults, didn't help.

Akamai seems better than Limelight (Limelight just errors out and doesn't even load to the start of stream).

edit: problem seems to be just that its paused at the start of the stream and not unpausing. basically you just have to press Play manually. (going fullscreen shows the stream is loaded!). weird because this was never necessary before, it'd just start playing when you selected a programme.
buffering is also very slow not sure if that's my network though. i also confirm the blurry strip along bottom, but this isn't important. so is there some setting that could prevent automatic play or cause it to not unpause? never had this problem before! sorry.

so (lots of points sorry!)

1) why do i have to press play after loading a stream?
2) why does "selecting subtitles" appear to take ages, when subtitles is set to "none"
3) why is buffering so very slow today (just me?!) possibly related to above
4) old issue: why can i not access plugin settings from the stream right click menu, but have to go up a level.
5) there's a blurry strip along the bottom (but who really cares if it works)
6) why do limelight streams not work (are all streams on both services?)

I've not had these problems myself, but there are memory issues with my current build in that it uses a fair amount of ram. Maybe connected. I have a work in progress using a new dvdplayer build with a minimal ffmpeg that uses a lot less ram. it also supports far fewer codecs, but im concentrating on the most used ones.

the pausing issue is odd. never had it. Are you using a simple skin or ? might be related to memory, but it could just be a networking issue. the stream should start paused until the initial buffer is filled. you can unpause at any time, but perhaps its a slow network problem ?

the matter of settings is down to the code in the plugin. its only available in some areas. you can move to the ".." and get the settings on the menu there.

the blurry section I think was mentioned earlier. its to do the the resolution not being a multiple of 16 or something. I think a trac bug has been opened. however the xbox build now has a new home - xbmc4xbox @ sourceforge and a new site http://www.xbmc4xbox.org - if you are running the linux version, they are going to integrate rtmp via ffmpeg i believe so it will differ from the xbox builds.

most streams are on limelight and akamai at 480/800/1500 at least. perhaps not all. If you post a log i might see what some issues might be.

I might upload a new build soon, with my new changes. it uses less ram but limits the playback capabilities of the dvdplayer in regards to formats. however those it doesnt support people can use mplayer. I set dvdplayer now on my build as the default player. quality is better in most cases as far as I can see (i dont think i am imagining it), but mplayer is still faster. i guess as libavcodec matures they make some decisions based on quality and not only on performance.
hi exobuzz, hope i didn't come across as whiny. really appreciate the work you're doing!

same slow buffering today though so not just a passing network problem?
navix buffers fine btw.
i need to test on some other xboxes, perhaps with standard PAL res (that one is 720p with xtv skin, not had memory problems yet though).
as i said, i can't see the free memory display for some reason?


looking forward to trying any new builds you have!
New release up @ http://aero.exotica.org.uk/~jools/xbmc/

check the readme for more details. this is a temporary location as the server the stuff was on before has some hardware problems right now.

I've been watching the great british menu tonight and buffering was very fast, so I'm not sure what the problem could be. I was using the akamai network. I could take a look at your logs and see if anything shows up perhaps if you like.

Please try the new build. Uses less ram and h264 decoding should be noticeably faster.

Also, since the xbox sections of the forum are being closed off, perhaps it would be better for us xboxs tocontinue discussion on http://www.xbmc4xbox.org/forum/viewtopic...2092#p2092

xbox code is now at http://sourceforge.net/projects/xbmc4xbox/develop
exobuzz Wrote:New release up @ http://aero.exotica.org.uk/~jools/xbmc/

check the readme for more details. this is a temporary location as the server the stuff was on before has some hardware problems right now.

I've been watching the great british menu tonight and buffering was very fast, so I'm not sure what the problem could be. I was using the akamai network. I could take a look at your logs and see if anything shows up perhaps if you like.

Please try the new build. Uses less ram and h264 decoding should be noticeably faster.

Also, since the xbox sections of the forum are being closed off, perhaps it would be better for us xboxs tocontinue discussion on http://www.xbmc4xbox.org/forum/viewtopic...2092#p2092

xbox code is now at http://sourceforge.net/projects/xbmc4xbox/develop
Is there a windows fix available for this yet? Or is there something I can do to get that working?
THISWEB Wrote:Is there a windows fix available for this yet? Or is there something I can do to get that working?

You could try and build in the linux patches. However, v.soon the stuff will get into trunk for windows I think. I don't really have the time to work on the windows version I am afraid.
It looks like the rtmpdump patch will be added soon and official nightly builds aren't far off either.
exobuzz Wrote:You could try and build in the linux patches. However, v.soon the stuff will get into trunk for windows I think. I don't really have the time to work on the windows version I am afraid.

Fair enough, thats good news, I'll wait till the XBMC app officially incorporates it.

Thanks for all your efforts on this!
new build (30th may) works a lot better for me. programmes start quickly and reliably.
managed to watch half of Have I Got News For You

until this happened:
00:19:19 M: 26038272 INFO: HandleCtrl, received ctrl. type: 6, len: 6
00:19:19 M: 26038272 INFO: HandleCtrl, Ping 1663536269
00:19:19 M: 26038272 INFO: sending ctrl. type: 0x0007
00:24:16 M: 26374144 INFO: RTMPSockBuf_Fill, recv returned -1. GetSockError(): 10054 (Unknown error)
00:24:16 M: 26374144 ERROR: WriteN, RTMP send error 10054 (46 bytes)
00:24:16 M: 26374144 ERROR: RTMP_ReadPacket, failed to read RTMP packet body. len: 37532
00:24:23 M: 26656768 WARNING: CDVDMessageQueue(audio)::Get - retrieved last data packet of queue
00:24:23 M: 26656768 DEBUG: CDVDPlayerAudio - CDVDMsg::GENERAL_EOF
00:24:23 M: 26656768 WARNING: CDVDMessageQueue(video)::Get - retrieved last data packet of queue
00:24:24 M: 26656768 INFO: CDVDPlayer:Tonguerocess - eof reading from demuxer
00:24:24 M: 26656768 NOTICE: CDVDPlayer::OnExit()
00:24:24 M: 26656768 NOTICE: DVDPlayer: eof, waiting for queues to empty
00:24:24 M: 26656768 NOTICE: DVDPlayer: closing audio stream
00:24:24 M: 26656768 NOTICE: Closing audio stream
00:24:24 M: 26656768 NOTICE: CDVDMessageQueue(audio)::WaitUntilEmpty
00:24:24 M: 26656768 NOTICE: Waiting for audio thread to exit
00:24:24 M: 26656768 DEBUG: CDVDPlayerAudio - CDVDMsg::GENERAL_SYNCHRONIZE
00:24:24 M: 26656768 NOTICE: thread end: CDVDPlayerAudio::OnExit()

(not sure how much to paste.
does this help at all?)

thanks
Not quite enough. a full log would be good. looks like a normal timeout. i can pause akamai for much longer than limelight fyi. I watch full episodes with my build regularly, so I wonder if it points to a network issue your end. A full log may or may not give more info. perhaps with full debugging on.

Also note in an earlier build i switched some log warnings to debug level as i found when seeking the logs get spammed. I didn't do this in my new build yet. right now im working on ditching the ac3/dts libraries to make ffmpeg libs do the work. and other things. basically my build is not only the rtmp stuff. cheers