Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: [RELEASE] iPlayer - BBC Video and Music Plugin (UK only!)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi everyone,

Thanks for a really great plugin! I'm having some trouble getting it working, and wondered if anyone could take a look at my log and see if they can spot the problem?

http://pastie.org/1240241

I can't figure out it its the IPlayer plugin, my rtmp setup, or something else. Any help would be much appreciated!

Dan
I have an Apple TV, 3.0 . I have recently put Dharma on it. Love how fast, responsive it looks and works. And now I want to use the BBC iPlayer on it. I have been able to install the plugin no problem. I can even access the content on the Beeb, the program names, etc. But when I go to load a specific programme, I have been getting the following error:

"Error fetching media info, Please check network access to IPlayer by playing iplayer content via a web browser"

Then, after a few moments, I will get another small warning, "Script Error plugin.video.iplayer". After this, I cannot watch any video.

As a disclaimer, I am in the USA, I do have the proxy settings in XBMC set with an proxy server in the UK. I do know that this is a good proxy as I will use the same IP on my Mac and I can get into the Beeb with the iPlayer on my Hackintosh.

Sorry if this has been posted in the forums before but I have been here for a few hours and the answer is not popping out to me.

Also, one other small point. When I want to try to install add on from zip, I get an error there too. Wil not load.

I do appreciate any help I can get. If anyone knows my nick from OSX86, you know I like to give back to the community too
xbmc.log
Here is an except from my xbmc log right where I am having an issue. Can anyon shed some light on this for me? Cheers

Quote:00:50:46 T:52759040 M: 13934592 NOTICE: iplayer2.py: INFO Stream XML URL: http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediaselector/4/mti...m/b008j400
00:50:46 T:52759040 M: 13946880 NOTICE: .
00:50:46 T:52759040 M: 13930496 NOTICE: iplayer2.py: INFO URL Fetch took 0.23 sec for http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediaselector/4/mti...m/b008j400
00:50:46 T:52759040 M: 13942784 NOTICE: .
00:50:46 T:52759040 M: 13938688 INFO: Loading skin file: DialogOK.xml
00:50:47 T:52759040 M: 13938688 DEBUG: Load DialogOK.xml: 51.91ms
00:50:47 T:2684407808 M: 13934592 DEBUG: ------ Window Init (DialogOK.xml) ------
00:50:47 T:2684407808 M: 13938688 DEBUG: Alloc resources: 0.13ms (0.03 ms skin load)
00:50:47 T:53416960 M: 13942784 DEBUG: Thread 53416960 terminating (autodelete)
00:51:03 T:52337664 M: 14090240 DEBUG: Thread 52337664 terminating (autodelete)
00:51:05 T:53313024 M: 14016512 DEBUG: FileCurl::Close(0xb07c4b00) http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/images/epis...40_360.jpg
00:51:05 T:53140480 M: 13807616 DEBUG: thread start, auto delete: 1
00:51:05 T:53313024 M: 11907072 INFO: Caching image from: http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/images/epis...40_360.jpg to special://masterprofile/Thumbnails/Video/5/57a8ddd2.tbn with width 512 and height 512
00:51:05 T:53313024 M: 11907072 DEBUG: Using proxy http://94.228.36.34:80
00:51:05 T:53313024 M: 11907072 DEBUG: FileCurl::Open(0xb07c4b00) http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/images/epis...40_360.jpg
00:51:31 T:53313024 M: 12439552 WARNING: FillBuffer: curl failed with code 28
00:51:31 T:53313024 M: 12435456 ERROR: CFileCurl::CReadState::Open, didn't get any data from stream.
00:51:31 T:53313024 M: 12435456 DEBUG: FileCurl::Close(0xb07c4b00) http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/images/epis...40_360.jpg
00:51:31 T:53313024 M: 12435456 DEBUG: Thread 53313024 terminating
Now, If you include the rest of xbmc.log, I'd be a happy camper. Use a pastebin site like http://www.pastebin.com.
Here is my pastebin

http://pastebin.com/Z3QafqpZ

I really do appreciate all your help
Hi
Can anyone tell me if the iPlayer plugin is dependant on an Intel chip. I'm running Dharma beta 4 on an Intel Macbook and a PPC G3. On the laptop it works a treat, as does Hulu, albeit in the latter case via a proxy. But on the PPC Mac it installs, shows the directories, goes all the way through as if it was going to load, then fails at the last moment. The error message says "One or more items failed to play. Check the log file for details". Trouble is I can't find the log file. I'm perfectly prepared to believe that I'm missing something blindingly obvious but I've no idea what. I even copied the folder from the laptop to the G5 but no joy. It's in the correct place. I've spent the last hour trawling assorted forums but with no luck. So any advice welcome. Interestingly the Hulu addon won't install properly on the G5 either.

OK so the log file was easy to find once I looked properly.

So here it is http://pastebin.com/pxaAZ1y4
camdnh22 Wrote:Hi everyone,

Thanks for a really great plugin! I'm having some trouble getting it working, and wondered if anyone could take a look at my log and see if they can spot the problem?

http://pastie.org/1240241

I can't figure out it its the IPlayer plugin, my rtmp setup, or something else. Any help would be much appreciated!

Dan

Not sure you have a version built with external librtmp support. Also when pasting logs, please paste the entire log, and not just the parts you might think are relevant. For example I am unable to see what version of xbmc you are running from this snippet.
Hi! I just wanted to pay my respects for this add-on. It's awesome!
Thank you!! Smile
I'm having exactly the same problem. I'm running Dharma beta 4 on my PPC G5 Mac and can get right through to where it actually says playing, but nothing appears, then I get the "one or more items failed to play" message. The curious thing is that it works perfectly on my Intel Macbook. I'm having a similar problem trying to run the Hulu add-on, via a proxy as I'm in the UK but again works fine on the laptop. Add-ons such as the Apple trailers are also working perfectly on both machines.

Log is here http://pastebin.com/L7UBMEiv

have trawled many a forum and this is the first time I've found someone else with the same issue. I'm perfectly prepared to be told that I've made some sort of fundamental error, but any help and advice would be much appreciated.

Updated log http://pastebin.com/ciVBsr63

It really doesn't mean much to me but if I've read it correctly there would seem to be an issue with the Flash player. I've tried re-installing, making sure I had the latest version, but the problem persists. The directories load perfectly, it all goes smoothly until the actual playing. I've compared the settings to those on the Macbook and they're identical, which just makes me all the more confused. I know Borisbadenov has the same problem, does anyone else?

For my sanity's sake it's probably a good thing I'll be out of the UK for two weeks
Managed to get this working (after renaming the folder). --perhaps the contents of the uploaded zip could be modified to save the user doing it?

Anyway, Im sure this used to play HD material. No more? (tried an HD show, addon just played SD).
PantsOnFire Wrote:Managed to get this working (after renaming the folder). --perhaps the contents of the uploaded zip could be modified to save the user doing it?

Anyway, Im sure this used to play HD material. No more? (tried an HD show, addon just played SD).

anyone?
HD shows still play fine for me.
Im still not sure whats going on... It just always plays the SD version, everytime. I tried changing the playback quality in Settings to 'auto' in case the 3200 setting was over-riding the HD streams but no change.

Im using DharmaBETA2 and 2.3.2 of the plugin (from the google code project page). How about you hitcher?

ps- does anyone know if there's a debug/output log for this plugin so I can see what's going on?
Dharma 4 and 2.3.2.