Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: HOW-TO setup XBMC and Linux with correct resolution (xorg.conf)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
After much trial an error, I was finally able to get 1080P to work with my Acer AT3705 TV via DVI. Originally, it was only detecting 1368x768 max resolution.

I'm able to select 1920x1080@30Hz, 25Hz, and 24Hz. Unfortunately, my TV doesn't support higher refresh rates via DVI. The quality between DVI, and HDMI with my TV is like night, and day. DVI is way sharper.

Here's my xorg.conf file.

Code:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder75)  Tue Dec  8 21:04:28 PST 2009


Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 80.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 85.0
    ModeLine "1920x1080@60p" 148.50 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
    ModeLine "1920x1080@50p" 148.50 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
    ModeLine "1920x1080@60p" 74.18 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 +hsync +vsync
    ModeLine "1920x1080@50p" 74.25 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1094 1124 +hsync +vsync
    ModeLine "[email protected]" 74.175 1920 2558 2602 2750 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
    ModeLine "1920x1080@24p" 74.16 1920 2558 2620 2750 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
    ModeLine "1920x1080@25p" 74.25 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
    ModeLine "1912x1080@60p" 141.000 1912 2032 2232 2536 1080 1081 1084 1112 +hsync +vsync
    ModeLine "1680x1050@60p" 119.00 1680 1728 1760 1840 1050 1053 1059 10980 +hsync +vsync
    Option "DPMS" "FALSE"
    Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "TRUE"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "ION"
    Option "ModeValidation" "NoEdidModes"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "NoLogo" "True"
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "DynamicTwinView" "False"
    Option         "FlatPanelProperties" "Scaling = Native"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes "1920x1080@60p" "1920x1080@24p" "1920x1080@25p" "1920x1080@50p" "1920x1080@50p" "1920x1080@60p" "[email protected]" "1912x1080@60p" "1680x1050@60p"
    EndSubSection
EndSection
I'm really new to this, especially Linux. I've tried to edit my xorg.conf, according to this and other manuals, but when I restart my Asrock ION 330 HT, I get a glimpse of XBMC Live starting, but after that, I go back to a prompt, asking to log into XBMC Live. As soon as I put back my original xorg.conf, everything is fine again....

My adjusted xorg.conf:
Code:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder75)  Tue Dec  8 21:04:28 PST 2009


Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "BenQ"
    ModelName      "PE7700"
    HorizSync       31.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
    Modeline "1280x720@60p" 74,250 1280 1390 1430 1650 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync
    Modeline "1280x720@50p" 74,250 1280 1720 1760 1980 720 741 746 750 +hsync +vsync
    Option         "DPMS"
    Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "TRUE"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option "ModeValidation" "NoEdidModes"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "NoLogo" "True"
    Option         "DynamicTwinView" "false"
    SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
    Modes "1280x720@60p" "1280x720@60p"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

I got the modelines from the internet, as in the output of xlog.txt, all relevant modes were rejected:
Code:
Validating Mode "1280x720":
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):     1280 x 720 @ 60 Hz
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):     For use as DFP backend.
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):     Mode Source: EDID
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):       Pixel Clock      : 74.25 MHz
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):       HRes, HSyncStart : 1280, 1390
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):       HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1430, 1650
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):       VRes, VSyncStart :  720,  725
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):       VSyncEnd, VTotal :  730,  750
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):       H/V Polarity     : +/+
(WW) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):     Mode is rejected: Modes from the BenQ PE7700 (DFP-0)'s
(WW) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):     EDID are not allowed.
etc.

Anyone an idea of what I've done wrong / missed?
MasterMace Wrote:I'm really new to this, especially Linux. I've tried to edit my xorg.conf, according to this and other manuals, but when I restart my Asrock ION 330 HT, I get a glimpse of XBMC Live starting, but after that, I go back to a prompt, asking to log into XBMC Live. As soon as I put back my original xorg.conf, everything is fine again....

My adjusted xorg.conf:
Code:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder75)  Tue Dec  8 21:04:28 PST 2009


Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "BenQ"
    ModelName      "PE7700"
    HorizSync       31.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
    Modeline "1280x720@60p" 74,250 1280 1390 1430 1650 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync
    Modeline "1280x720@50p" 74,250 1280 1720 1760 1980 720 741 746 750 +hsync +vsync
    Option         "DPMS"
    Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "TRUE"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option "ModeValidation" "NoEdidModes"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "NoLogo" "True"
    Option         "DynamicTwinView" "false"
    SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
    Modes "1280x720@60p" "1280x720@60p"
    EndSubSection
EndSection
I got the modelines from the internet, as in the output of xlog.txt, all relevant modes were rejected:
Code:
Validating Mode "1280x720":
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):     1280 x 720 @ 60 Hz
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):     For use as DFP backend.
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):     Mode Source: EDID
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):       Pixel Clock      : 74.25 MHz
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):       HRes, HSyncStart : 1280, 1390
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):       HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1430, 1650
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):       VRes, VSyncStart :  720,  725
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):       VSyncEnd, VTotal :  730,  750
(II) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):       H/V Polarity     : +/+
(WW) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):     Mode is rejected: Modes from the BenQ PE7700 (DFP-0)'s
(WW) Jan 02 21:51:15 NVIDIA(0):     EDID are not allowed.
etc.

Anyone an idea of what I've done wrong / missed?

Did you keep scrolling down mate? That's what I got too, but if you keep scrolling down you start coming to some valid ones (does take a while, if you have windows, install open-ssh on the xbmc box then use WinSCP to ssh in and download the xlog.txt so you can find all the modes with a regular text editor).


Thank you OP, although arduous this worked like an absolute charm!
I'm getting closer to figuring this out, however I'm a little confused. Is the process to tweak xorg.conf to get a correct value, that then will show up in the xbmc settings? I am pretty sure I set a mode for 720p in xorg, however when i recycle everything and check in xbmc to see if the mode shows up, its not there.

Code:
ection "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       15.0 - 46.0
    VertRefresh     59.0 - 61.0
    Option         "DPMS" "FALSE"
    Option "ExaceModeTimingsDVI" "TRUE"
    Modeline "1280x720_60.00"  74.48  1280 1336 1472 1664  720 721 724 746  -hsync +vsync

EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option "ModeValidation" "NoEdidModes"
    Option "UseEDIDFreqs" "FALSE"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "NoLogo" "True"
    Option         "IgnoreEDID" "true"
    Option "DynamicTwinView" "False"
    Option "FlatPanelProperties" "Scaling = Native"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    Modes "1280x720_60"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

I created the mode from a gtf for 720p @60hz I'm also guessing at HorizSync and VertRefresh based on a "training manual" i found for my tv thta said 720p was 45khertz and vert was 60hz

thanks!
idlehands Wrote:I'm getting closer to figuring this out, however I'm a little confused. Is the process to tweak xorg.conf to get a correct value, that then will show up in the xbmc settings? I am pretty sure I set a mode for 720p in xorg, however when i recycle everything and check in xbmc to see if the mode shows up, its not there.

Code:
ection "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       15.0 - 46.0
    VertRefresh     59.0 - 61.0
    Option         "DPMS" "FALSE"
    Option "ExaceModeTimingsDVI" "TRUE"
    Modeline "1280x720_60.00"  74.48  1280 1336 1472 1664  720 721 724 746  -hsync +vsync

EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option "ModeValidation" "NoEdidModes"
    Option "UseEDIDFreqs" "FALSE"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "NoLogo" "True"
    Option         "IgnoreEDID" "true"
    Option "DynamicTwinView" "False"
    Option "FlatPanelProperties" "Scaling = Native"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    Modes "1280x720_60"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

I created the mode from a gtf for 720p @60hz I'm also guessing at HorizSync and VertRefresh based on a "training manual" i found for my tv thta said 720p was 45khertz and vert was 60hz

thanks!

Modes "1280x720_60" needs to be Modes "1280x720_60.00" as set in modeline Wink
ahh, that did it thanks!
also had to change

Code:
Option "ModeValidation" "NoEdidModes"

to
Code:
Option "ModeValidation"
I'm using the shotgun method it seems.

Although now xbmc menus look all flickery, but 720p content looks fine. well, subs and overscanned all to hell, but I think I can fix that with the xbmc video calibration. Fun fun!
idlehands Wrote:ahh, that did it thanks!
also had to change

Code:
Option "ModeValidation" "NoEdidModes"

to
Code:
Option "ModeValidation"
I'm using the shotgun method it seems.

Although now xbmc menus look all flickery, but 720p content looks fine. well, subs and overscanned all to hell, but I think I can fix that with the xbmc video calibration. Fun fun!

My menus look flickery when i'm using 24hz in the menus, 60hz looks very smooth. I use the settings to match refresh to video instead and run 60hz as default.
xorg.conf can be a bitch, make sure you get an extra pair of eyes to watch as well, 'cause after a while you go blind and see flickers/stutter everywhere, when it's actually fine. A lot of encoded video just isn't 100% smooth, which can throw you off as well. Use the same clip for testing always Wink
gekados Wrote:My menus look flickery when i'm using 24hz in the menus, 60hz looks very smooth. I use the settings to match refresh to video instead and run 60hz as default.

Oh boy.I was just hoping to set everything at 720p@60 and forget about it.
Are you saying that the menus default to 24hz or can be set independently of the video?
idlehands Wrote:Oh boy.I was just hoping to set everything at 720p@60 and forget about it.
Are you saying that the menus default to 24hz or can be set independently of the video?

You can choose the default in video settings and there you can select match refresh rate to video (or similar, not at my box atm).
60hz, should be fine as default, I have a lot of pal and ntsc+bluray movies in one big mix though, and I like to the refresh rate to be accurate, but that's just a personal preference (it will require at lease 3 modelines though).

Anywho, get the 60hz to work right first, then you can always add more later. Check even the settings for your tv, it might be a factor as well (had to switch my pio plasma to pc input(hdmi) to get refresh rates right, otherwise it just defaulted to 50hz on anything, which is not a good thing if xbmc is outputting 60hz or 24hz for example Wink

Lot of factors, lot of settings, but it's a one-time thing, then just remember to back up your xorg.conf, hehe.
Okay so most of the posts in here are dealing with plasmas and lcd's using 1080p or 720p. I am attempting to use the PC input (15 pin D-sub) on an old LCD tv. The native resolution is 1280x768. The TV Will do 720p or 1080i using the component video input but i have to use the 15 pin and a dvi-15pin adapter on the computer. Hope that makes sense so far.

I was able to get a good readout from xlog.txt but it doens't give me any readouts for 1280x768 it gives me readouts for a ton of other modes, more than half of which i know for sure is way out of my range. If someone has actually got this to work on a custom resolution (not standard HDTV resolutions) i would really appreciate the help. Any log files that you need form me are readily available, just ask! Smile

I've been working on this all week and i'll happily post my results if i get it working. thanks
WOW! Guys, I have to say, I just glanced through this whole thread and I cannot believe the troubles. I would assume this not to be a how-to but a guide. If you click on the original authors post from the ubuntu forums and READ the whole thread you will learn how to do it all properly. Including fixing overscan and underscan, why certain modes are used and why not. Why you need to use modevalidation "no edid modes" and more.

I have been using the original ubuntu post for a long time but I still revert to it and read it completely at least a couple times or more before proceeding to create a custom setup, new install or xorg file. I did my dad's 1080i rca with that post it is CRT-3 gun and it has been running perfect pixel 1920x1080i for a while with zero overscan or underscan at the right refresh and proper scan rates as well as my 1366x768 (Max 1280x720) no name tv, my LG 32" 1080p and my Sharp 52" now the sharp and the LG both have 1:1 pixel mapping which makes all this stuff a whole lot easier but I spent likely a day on the No name tv getting it right.

It takes some effort to get xorg properly setup and working correctly - blindly throwing settings in and out of your xorg.conf will only work a few times and you WILL end up with BLACK SCREEN on your TV - FOREVER.

my 2 cents.

Regards,

Dave
Sorry, i see it the complete other way round, obviously nobody has been able to comprehensively explain this in a user friendly way so there wouldn't be so much open debate going on. Are you expecting ppl to do a weeks research for this or else go screw themselves? Quite an elitist point of view.
Honestly i do believe this CAN be a simple process, and i agree rodercot that blindly throwing settings into xorg.conf can be trouble, and i do agree with you gokudo as well that it is not documented in a totally n00b friendly way. However, i don't think anyone EXPECTS anyone to do it either way. Unfortunately this is one of the problems that is not optional to fix.... what i mean is that its not like scraping info from mdb or tv.com, this is the display, the whole thing working relys on having the display work properly. and since everyone has different hardware it isn't gonna be plug and play. in fact i'd be suprised if in this whole comunity 2 people had the exact same setup.... but that doesn't change things. Setting rosolution in linux has never been straight forward for me, i don't think even once i had it "work out fo the box" i've used Linux off and on for about 6 years but mostly for a server. SO i don't think arguing or calling people lazy is gonna get anyone anywhere.

My Setup works perfectly fine on the 19inch lcd that i originally set it up on (probably because it uses a standard 1280x1024 res) but my uncommon widescreen res is causing me problems. Does anyone have any ideas where to go for more information? Untill now i've only used gentoo. which i thought would be the same but is clearly not quite.
deadite66 Wrote:i've given up getting 1360x768 on my pc.
karmic i386, nvidia 6200 pci and a 26" panasonic lcd.

Try mine. I was in the same boat as you. I JUST got this working. I had the top/bottom/sides going just out of the screen. Now I get 1280x720 and SPDIF all working on a minimal Karmic install. Joy Smile

Code:
[size=xx-small]Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       30.000 - 120.000
    VertRefresh     48.000 - 125.000
    Option         "DPMS"
    Option         "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "TRUE"
    Modeline       "1280x720" 74.25 1280 1390 1430 1662 720 725 730 762 +hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option         "ModeValidation" "NoEdidModes"
    Option         "NoLogo" "True"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "HWCursor" "on"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1280x720"
    EndSubSection
EndSection[/size]

Note that I actually shoulda had this working years ago if I just fiddled with my modeline more. I believe it was simply editing the two bolded numbers (they were like 8 digits lower) that finally did it for me.

Code:
Modeline       "1280x720" 74.25 1280 1390 1430 [b]1662[/b] 720 725 730 [b]762[/b] +hsync +vsync

Also a little tip. Running nvidia-settings to adjust colors and create a .nvidia-settings-rc was a big help with the picture afterward.
My post was not meant to be directed at anyone, I think that the initial post #1 should have included the whole ubuntu thread including the testing and setups portion which tells you how to tweak the modelines to compensate for under and over scan.

RTFM is completely up to the individual and some people can read for hours and some for less. I hate reading myself and I am no linux xpert by any means. I just know that googling to find the xact issue I am trying to fix in linux is usually NOT going to happen unless you are lucky and i am usually not.

I have just been reading thread after thread lately where it seems that people do not want to do the req'd labour to get the overall end result. I think how-to's are awesome and they help people immensly I know i have used several and posted several as well, both here and on the mythbuntu site. I still get pm'd over my hdmi audio success thread and that is a year or more old as well I am sure Olympia still gets pm'd over his GREAT how to on setting up what I think was the best xbmcbuntu how-to ever written.

I guess there is a real simple solution, we can use M$ and be told this is how it is; like it or not or use open-source product which was created by people whom I regard as thinking outside the box and actually makes us 'think' to use it.

ok that has to be 4 cents; what with inflation and allBig Grin

It's all good.

Regards,

Dave
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12