Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Remote and SPDIF/Toslink not working.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
HuhAfter years en years I also replaced my old xbox.

I myself am a windows guy but I agree that Linux is the way to go in this case, I have no experience what so ever with Linux. So I wanted a system that would work out of the box with the live cd.

After a lot of reading I found that the Asus M3N78-xx boards with the gforce 8200 works well so I bought a M3N78-VM with HDMI out. 2 Gigs of ram, A old 4200 X2 AMD, 250 Gig HDD and a MS-Tech MC-400 with PSU and Remote.

Installed XBMC on the HDD and it booted perfectly. The screen was a bit jerky even the news ticker had a bit of a heard beat in it. A lot of fames dropt playing HD material. I changed the output resolution to 1080I and it works perfectly now, the LG tv still say’s 1080P Strange.

And now for the problems ;-)

The remote will not work. I took off the front panel and connected the clued in IR receiver to a USB port on my windows 7 machine. It found a HID device, after pressing power on the remote the system got to sleep (more like a coma, but it stil a beta ;-)) So I know the device is a standard Microsoft remote and it works. The USB ports on the mainboard work and I have a correct connection.

So why is it not working? The standard media center remote is build in to the live cd right ?

Problem 2

No SPDIF, this is probably my fault but I can’t find it in the forum or the wiki.

Audio output device : default

If I type HDMI it will send audio and works but only 2.0 stereo not DD and DTS

I expected by typing SPDIF it would send audio to onboard optical toslink but NO GO.

So If I want audio tru the toslink optical what is the correct syntax?

Pass through output device : iec958

In advance thank you for your patience,

Regards Sebastian,-
Lucky for you I have the exact same motherboard.