Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: No sound when playing MP3's
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi folks,
As of lately I'm having some problems with XBMC. I'm using an Asrock ION 330 system along with a Logitech Z5500 sound system, linked via Optical Toslink. Movies (.mkv) play absolutely fine, I get crystal clear 5.1 surround. However, when I try to play MP3 files from any source available things tend to stay a little quiet. The Z5500 receiver says 'no digital data'.

I'm really new to Linux. I'm trying to live up to the 'HOW-TO' of problem posting, but please bare with me.

Linux Distribution and Version
Linux XBMCLive 2.6.28-11-generic #42-Ubuntu SMP Fri Apr 17 01:57:59 UTC 2009 i686 GNU/Linux

Architecture
i686

Install Method
XBMC Live USB?

SVN Revision
Didn't see a 'XBMC SVN: #####', but at each page the following is listed:
XBMC 9.04.1 r20654 (Compiled May 25 2009)

Detailed Instructions to Reproduce the Problem
There is really not much to it. I downloaded and installed XBMC Live CD and installed it to my USB drive. After that I followed a guide (Dutch) to update my system. I used the following terminal commands after exiting XBMC:

1. sudo apt-get update
2. sudo aptitude dist-upgrade
3. wget ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-...4-pkg1.run
4. sudo apt-get install build-essential cdbs fakeroot dh-make debhelper debconf libstdc++5 dkms linux-headers-$(uname -r)
5. sudo sh ./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-185.18.14-pkg1.run -k $(uname -r) --x-module-path=/usr/lib/xorg/modules --x-library-path=/usr/lib

As far as audio hardware settings go, I've set the following:
1. Output stereo to all speakers [yes]
2. Audio output -> Digital
3. AC3 capable receiver [yes]
4. DTS capable receiver [yes]
5. Audio output device -> default
6. Passthrough -> iec958
7. Downmix multichannel audio to stereo [no]

Once again, movies are playing absolutely splendid.

FULL Debug Log
http://pastebin.com/m1f9a6606