Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: XBMC Ubuntu VS XBMC Live
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I have just got myself the ASRock ION 330, and wanted to know a few things.
I basically just want to use the ASRock to play my HD material (via HDMI > AVR), that's it.

Is one easier to set up than the other (I am basically a Linux noob)?

Is one easier to update - drivers, XBMC builds, XBMC skins etc...?

Is one more stable than the other?

Anything you would like to add? Huh
If you're planning on changing anything then use a regular Ubuntu install. If you plan on installing XBMC and using it, then use XBMC Live.
Maxim Wrote:If you're planning on changing anything then use a regular Ubuntu install. If you plan on installing XBMC and using it, then use XBMC Live.

What do you mean by "changing anything"?

XBMC will be the only thing I will be installing, as I have no need for PVR or flash (youtube) type features.
C'mon guys, any reason to go one over the other?
well I go for ubuntu+xbmc in my setup but that is just because i use my htpc for occasional browsing and tvshows torrent downloading.

My advice is that if you use only xbmc then go for the xbmclive install, much less problems.

regards,
MdMa Wrote:C'mon guys, any reason to go one over the other?

c'mon guy, use the search button. This exact question is asked at least once a week.
althekiller Wrote:c'mon guy, use the search button. This exact question is asked at least once a week.

I hate to be rude althekiller, but I browse the forums a lot and every time I see one of your posts it is either highly condescending or informative.

Should you just not leave the smart remarks out, if ppls stupidity really bothers you - don't reply.