Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: help With XBMC live
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi Guys i am new to this after 4 days reading most thinks on the web i still can not work this out i have just got a AsRock ION 330 Nettop PC i downloaded XBMC Live 9.04.1 with the newer NVIDIA drivers then burned it 2 CD booted my pc up and install it all on to my hard drive not usb all went fine pluged it in to my 50 inch Plasma TV via HDMI lead XBMC loded just fine went in to Settings-Video-player and set Render Method To VDPAU then went in to Settings-Appearance-Screen and it was set to [email protected] hz (full Screen) this makes all the text in the skins look out off focus i have tryed other stting and it still dose not work but when i play a film acrross my network it is jus t fine well its a great pic i have tyr to change my settings following the informatin i found

So there are a couple of ways to access the XBMC Live system, this one is not too difficult and can be done from windows by using a free + open source FTP client called Winscp, you will also need to download PuTTY.
Step 1) Start XBMC and go into settings/network and look at what its current IP address is & make a note of it.

Step 2) Start Putty and type in the IP address of XBMC to connect.
username and password = xbmc

Type in this command sudo passwd root this will prompt you to change the root password so pick xbmc as the password.

Close Putty. (The purpose of Putty is to give us root access so you can modify the files of XBMC remotely in Winscp otherwise it would not let you)

Step 3) Now start Winscp and in the hostname enter in the XBMC IP address
username = root password = xbmc

Once logged in find the /etc/ folder, go into it and then go into the /x11/ folder it should contain xorg.conf

Step 4) Applying the X cursor sleep fix.

Right click on xorg.conf and select edit, under Section Device add
Option "HWCursor" "false"