Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Expected cpu usage?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to xbmc, all though I've had it installed for a while I really haven't tinkered with it too much.

I have xbmc installed on a zotac ion-itx-b (single core) with 4gb ram, running Arch Linux. Everything is running very well and watching 720p movies is a breeze.

One thing I have noted though, and it bugs me somewhat, is that the cpu usage is always sitting at 20% (xbmc possesing all usage), even if I am at the home screen and the box has been idle for a very long time.

I have seen a few topics on people having problems with 100% cpu usage and such, but that is really not my problem.

My question is if 20% cpu usage is to be expected when the system is ideling? I would very much prefer it to be lower but before I go hunting for performance issues I thought I'd ask here first.

The reason I'm asking is that if I exit xbmc and let the box sit at practically 0% cpu usage the temperature drops from ~63C to 55C which is pretty important for me as the case I am using is quite small and badly ventilated.

So, what cpu usage is others having? Any chance of going lower from where I am at the moment?
# ps -eo pcpu,args | grep xbmc.bin | grep -v grep
10.6 /usr/share/xbmc/xbmc.bin -fs

cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep "model name"
model name : Genuine Intel® CPU 1300 @ 1.66GHz
model name : Genuine Intel® CPU 1300 @ 1.66GHz
~$ ps -eo pcpu,args | grep xbmc.bin | grep -v grep
28.0 /usr/share/xbmc/xbmc.bin --standalone

~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep "model name"
model name : Intel® Atom™ CPU 330 @ 1.60GHz

A tad high imo.
31.9 /usr/share/xbmc/xbmc.bin --standalone

model name : Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E8500 @ 3.16GHz
model name : Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E8500 @ 3.16GHz