Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: [Windows 7] Trying to decide whether XBMC is the best front-end for my setup...
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi, I'm new here. I'm also completely new to XBMC, and all HTPC software tbh.

I'm trying to make a setup for someone where simplicity is key, I dont mind putting some time into setting it up so the setup process doesnt neccesarily have to be easy.

I've heard W7 MCE might be a good way to go, but I've heard so much good about XBMC I wanted to give it a try. It will pretty much only be used to tv shows and movies playback, I might throw in a few cool plugins depending on what there is that doesnt make the user experience more complex.

The pc is an asrock ion 330. It will be used as a regular office pc and then as a side function I wanted to install some htpc setup on it. It'd be ideal to be able to fire up XBMC (or other front-end) with a single key press on an universal remote.

I read on another forum that the win version of XBMC doesnt support hardware acceleration. It'll probably mostly be playing xvid/dvd, and the odd 720p, but in case one would need 1080p playback would I run into issues here? Would I be better off waiting for the new final version of XBMC, which I believe isnt too far away?

The remote I've been looking at is:
http://cgi.ebay.com/SONY-RMVL600-RM-VL60...45efc7a599

and then I'll probably just pick up some cheap IR receiver. I've not played around with setting up universal remotes either in the past, my question is, will it be possible to teach one "learning" remote like the one above to work very well with XBMC? Again, I dont mind spending some time doing it. Any keyboard-remote device is out of questions, this setup really has to be simple to use.

Any input is greatly appreciated. And thanks to all you great devs that brings us apps like this for FREE.