Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: New "retarded" xbmc user
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm sure I will get flamed for this.
( but at this point its worth the burn if i can get an understanding )

Ok - 1st. I'm totally new to xbmc.

I just read 2 days worth of forums. ‘sigh’

I have a new Acer Aspire Revo AR1600-U910H
Still running XP. I loaded xbmc-9.11
That’s it.

I have been all over the wiki. But I sounds like that is written for the xbox.
I searched for a basic: “setup guide” or “how to” maybe “step by step”.
The ones I have read seem very convoluted. Is that the norm for this software?
I’m no computer wizard, but this has me feeling like a complete retard.

I am a long time Medigate35 user for viewing movies. All my media is on a couple of usb hard drives connected to my main computer(running XP home). I have all the folders set up to share on my network.

So in xbmc how do I map to my media folders thru the network.

Thanks,
jeepgif
[flame suit on]
Here is the online manual.

Installing XBMC is as easy as double-clicking the setup.exe file. To map XBMC to your network shares just browse to 'My Music', 'My Pictures', or 'My Videos' and click the option 'Add Source'. From there you just browse to your network share. Its really, really simple to setup and use.
AssChin79 Wrote:Here is the online manual.

Installing XBMC is as easy as double-clicking the setup.exe file. To map XBMC to your network shares just browse to 'My Music', 'My Pictures', or 'My Videos' and click the option 'Add Source'. From there you just browse to your network share. Its really, really simple to setup and use.

thanks,

but i dont see: 'My Music', 'My Pictures', or 'My Videos'

here is what i have:

From the manual: