Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Bad XBMC Experience. Need Help!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Ok, I've been running XBMC on the Xbox for several months now without problems. H264 playback was choppy due to lack of RAM/old hardware, etc. I picked up an ACER Revo Single Core Atom box to replace it.

I have followed the instructions to make a minimal install of Karmic and then install XBMC and all video/sound & power saving tweaks needed. I have wasted over 8 hours doing this install twice and am still having issues with Networking.

I am unable to browse Windows SMB shares. (Error 2), the webserver does not work when booting up. SOMETIMES if I enable and disable it it will work until a reboot. On a reboot of the Revo, it decides it can't communicate with the network doesn't get an IP. I have to CTRL + F2 and do an ifdown eth0 and then an ifup eth0 to get networking back. XBMC Streamer for my iPhone has never connected since switching to Linux platform.

After all of this I decided to test XBMC Live on the Revo. Made a bootable USB key with unetbootin on a WinXP VM (i'm on a mac) and booted up. I'm still having problems with the Webserver, but maybe that is because it is running Live from USB drive? However, now I am able to browse Windows SMB share without issue.

Sooo. I go to install Live (I'm using the 9.11 Repack) to the HDD. Now I can't install it because the damn installer keeps looking for a CD-ROM drive. Search through the threads some more and discover to press tab key and add Try USB =true, but when I try that, that line in already in the syslinux.cfg file.

How can I install Live from a USB key? I don't have an external CDROM drive and I'm not going to buy one. This install has been a total nightmare for me.