Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: XBMC.EjectTray() not working?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey guys!

Sorry to bother you with my next question, but I'm kind of puzzled over here...
I've got XBMC Live nearly perfectly running (installed on an HDD) with my MCE Remote working out of the box. Now all I wanted to do is to add one button to eject my DVD drive's tray as I can't do this on the PC itself (it's a PC built into a PowerMac G4 case, so no possibility to press the eject button on the drive).

Well, I studied the Wiki and for my understanding I would have to add these to lines:

<eject>DVD</eject> (in /usr/share/xbmc/system/Lircmap.xml)

<eject>XBMC.EjectTray()</eject> (in /usr/share/xbmc/system/keymaps/remote.xml)

Well, doesn't work. The name of the button (DVD) is correct, as i can use it for other actions. The combination of Lircmap.xml and remote.xml therefor must be correct too, right? And remote.xml only is an extension for keyboard.xml, which hasn't got any remote control information in it.

So, long story short: What am I doing wrong now?

Kind regards,
Rick
Is the account running xbmc in the cdrom group?
Sorry, I absolutely have no idea what you are talking about. I guess xbmc has to have rights to open the cd drive, right? Could you please give me a hint what I should change?
Go to console and check name of current user:

Code:
$ whoami

Since you are running live version more likely the answer to whoami will be xbmc.
That means that user xbmc is running XBMC.
No check if this user is in cdrom group:

Code:
$ groups xbmc

The answer should be
xbmc : ...(group names)
So you will get group names that user xbmc belongs to. Group named cdrom should be on that list. If it is not then you need to add user xbmc to cdrom group. Google on how to do that Smile
Thanks a lot!
Did that and - surprise - xbmc is in the cdrom group.

Code: