Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: rc.local not changing wakeup file on boot
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
I've been troubleshooting a couple wake from suspend issues since upgrading to 9.11 final and there is one that is baffling me. I added 'echo US15 > /proc/acpi/wakeup' to rc.local so that it would set that at each boot, but it doesn't. If I manually run 'echo US15 > /proc/acpi/wakeup', US15 shows as enabled when I run 'cat /proc/acpi/wakeup'. But after a reboot everything shows as disabled. Here is my rc.local:

Code:
#!/bin/sh -e
#
# rc.local
#
# This script is executed at the end of each multiuser runlevel.
# Make sure that the script will "exit 0" on success or any other
# value on error.
#
# In order to enable or disable this script just change the execution
# bits.
#
# By default this script does nothing.
echo US15 > /proc/acpi/wakeup
exit 0

Any ideas why that could be?
Try using the "tee" command. I added the following to my rc.local:
Code:
echo "USB0" | sudo tee /proc/acpi/wakeup

Replace USB0 with US15 in your case.
what does tee on a single file do? The tee command is usually used to port a single output to multiple outputs. what does it do when it is used as a single output?
I'm not sure it's the tee that's helping... I think it's the sudo. Smile

I use:-

sudo sh -c 'echo USB0 > /proc/acpi/wakeup'
SweetS2K Wrote:Replace USB0 with US15 in your case.

Maybe that's why it's not working? Perhaps it should be USB15, not US15?
Post your cat /proc/acpi/wakeup
decaturguy Wrote:Post your cat /proc/acpi/wakeup

Here it is after a reboot:

Code:
root@XBMCLive:~# cat /proc/acpi/wakeup
Device  S-state   Status   Sysfs node
PS2K      S4     disabled  pnp:00:09
UAR1      S4     disabled  pnp:00:0c
SMB0      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:03.2
USB0      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:04.0
USB2      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:04.1
US15      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:06.0
US12      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:06.1
NMAC      S5     disabled  pci:0000:00:0a.0
PBB0      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:09.0
HDAC      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:08.0
XVR0      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:0c.0
XVR1      S4     disabled
P0P5      S4     disabled
P0P6      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:15.0
P0P7      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:16.0
P0P8      S4     disabled
P0P9      S4     disabled

here it is after I manually type echo US15 > /proc/acpi/wakeup:

Code:
root@XBMCLive:~# echo US15 > /proc/acpi/wakeup
root@XBMCLive:~# cat /proc/acpi/wakeup
Device  S-state   Status   Sysfs node
PS2K      S4     disabled  pnp:00:09
UAR1      S4     disabled  pnp:00:0c
SMB0      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:03.2
USB0      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:04.0
USB2      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:04.1
US15      S4     enabled   pci:0000:00:06.0
US12      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:06.1
NMAC      S5     disabled  pci:0000:00:0a.0
PBB0      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:09.0
HDAC      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:08.0
XVR0      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:0c.0
XVR1      S4     disabled
P0P5      S4     disabled
P0P6      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:15.0
P0P7      S4     disabled  pci:0000:00:16.0
P0P8      S4     disabled
P0P9      S4     disabled

I had this setup and working in beta 2 without any extra commands. Not sure what's changed.
Try

sudo sh -c 'echo US15 > /proc/acpi/wakeup'

in your local.rc. I'm not sure you can modify wakeup without admin access.

J
Still no joy. cat /proc/acpi/wakeup still shows all devices diasbled. Just to double check, here is my rc.local now:

Code:
sudo sh -c echo US15 > /proc/acpi/wakeup
exit 0
RockDawg Wrote:Still no joy. cat /proc/acpi/wakeup still shows all devices diasbled. Just to double check, here is my rc.local now:

Code:
sudo sh -c echo US15 > /proc/acpi/wakeup
exit 0

Forgot the single quote before echo and after wakeup.
nugentgl Wrote:Forgot the single quote before echo and after wakeup.

Indeed I did. Nonetheless, adding them didn't change anything. Is it possible rc.local isn't being run on boot up? Is there a way to manually run it? I tried the usual way, but it doesn't work:

Code:
root@XBMCLive:/etc# rc.local
-bash: rc.local: command not found
Is there a way to tell if rc.local is being run at boot time?
You could have it create a new file in your home directory to see if it is running. Something like:

touch /home/[user]/test.txt

If test.txt is in your home dir, then it is running. Then the next step would be to determine why your echo command is not working.
One other thing - have you sudo'd before?

If not try the sudo sh -c... blah blah blah at the command prompt when logged in as the user you gave to the Live installer when you installed xbmc. You may get prompted for your password again - if that user hasn't used sudo before. If that happens, type the password, check the proc/acpi/wakeup, reboot and see how it looks then.
nugentgl Wrote:You could have it create a new file in your home directory to see if it is running. Something like:

touch /home/[user]/test.txt

If test.txt is in your home dir, then it is running. Then the next step would be to determine why your echo command is not working.

That's a good idea. I should've thought of that.

I tried it and test.txt was not created, so it seems as though rc.local is not executing.

Code:
touch /home/test.txt
echo US15 > /proc/acpi/wakeup
exit 0

I should add that I tried your test on my other pc running XBMC Live that seems to be processing the rc.local file and it didn't create the test file either. And I tried with and without sudo.
Pages: 1 2 3