Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Best Practice for Ripping DVDs for XBMC
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hi guys,

Currently in the process of trying to joing the world of XBMC, trying to get it working on an Acer Revo running Ubuntu, I'm a noob to both, so it's one step forward one back at the moment! All good fun though.

What I'd like some help on is what are people best practice for ripping DVD's that they play via XBMC? Have never been into ripping DVD's up until now, but can see once I get the system up and running, converting my whole DVD collection, so I want to make sure I have the best process sorted, before doing it.

So I guess the questions are, what software do you use? What format preserves picture quality and multi-channel sound? Do you have to do somethign special at the point of ripping to get XBMC to show thumbnails? Does the process work everytime or do copyright issues mess up the process sometimes?

The rips will most likely reside on my NAS.

Thanks for any tips.Smile
DVDFab (dvd-dvd) to dump movies into .iso files to SMB share device (NAS). Filenames from IMDB title so that library can scrape properly automatically. In library mode XBMC really shows it's claws... Use Rapier3.x skin eg.
1 movie = 5-8GB (nothing stripped!). Pure DVD Experience, The only intelligent way. Smile
Cheers buddy.Big Grin

I think I may have finally broken the back of building my media PC, touch wood. Have given your suggestion a go and made an ISO, not had a chance to try it yet, but thanks for the pointer.
Instead of using some software application to create an ISO, you can also just copy the VIDEO_TS folder from your dvd to your (external) harddrive!

I simply create a folder: "Batman (2009)" and copy the VIDEO_TS folder in that folder.
Do that for every dvd.